Front Page

Previous Story

Next Story

NIH Record Awardees

Atkinson Is Named a Master

Dr. Arthur A. Atkinson, Jr., senior advisor in clinical pharmacology to the Clinical Center director and director of the ClinPRAT postdoctoral training program, as well as the course "Principles of Clinical Pharmacology," has been named a master by the American College of Physicians-American Society of Internal Medicine for his distinguished contributions to internal medicine. The mastership will be presented in April at the college's annual session in Philadelphia. Atkinson has been president of the American Board of Clinical Pharmacology and president of the American Society for Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics. He is associate editor of Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics and Pharmacological Reviews.

Blau Receives FASEB Award

NIH grantee Dr. Helen M. Blau recently received the 1999 Excellence in Science Award from the Federation of American Societies for Experimental Biology. The award is presented to one woman annually to recognize outstanding achievement in the biological sciences. Blau, professor and chair of molecular pharmacology at Stanford University School of Medicine, was honored for research that has had a fundamental impact on the understanding of how cells become and remain differentiated during development. The award was presented at the annual meeting of the American Society for Cell Biology; it included a $10,000 unrestricted research grant, funded by Eli Lilly and Co., and a recognition plaque. Blau has received support from NIGMS, NICHD, NIA and NCI.

Up to Top