Front Page

Previous Story

Next Story

NIH Record


Outstanding Contributions in Biophysics

Dr. Wayne A. Hendrickson, a member of the National Advisory General Medical Sciences Council and a long-time NIGMS grantee, has been named first recipient of the National Academy of Sciences Alexander Hollaender Award in Biophysics. The prize, given every 3 years for outstanding contributions in biophysics, will be presented to Hendrickson "for his contributions to macromolecular crystallography, in the development of robust methods of phasing and refinement, and in determination of complex and biologically important structures." Hendrickson is a professor of biochemistry and molecular biophysics and a Howard Hughes Medical Institute investigator at Columbia University College of Physicians and Surgeons. He will receive the award and its $15,000 prize on Apr. 27 at a ceremony in Washington, D.C., during the academy's 135th annual meeting.

American Society of Hematology's Award

NIDDK's Dr. David Badman is one of the first recipients of the American Society of Hematology's Award for Outstanding Service, which recognizes consistent and effective contributions to research or medical practice. Director of the Hematology Program, he was cited for 22 years of strong advocacy for high quality research in hematology. He championed research not being emphasized elsewhere and established the first NIDDK Centers of Excellence in Molecular Hematology. Badman received a plaque at the society's recent annual meeting.

Up to Top