Front Page

Previous Story

Next Story

NIH Record


NIH Grantees Receive Presidential Awards

Ten NIH grantees were selected by the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy to be among the 60 individuals to receive the most prestigious award the federal government can make to outstanding researchers starting their careers -- the Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers.

"The Presidential Early Career awardees represent the best among our next generation of scientists," said Dr. Wendy Baldwin, NIH deputy director for extramural research. "These young investigators are the leaders of their fields and will be the pathfinders for science in the future."

Nine agencies nominated more than 60 scientists and engineers for the new award. NIH selected its nominees from among the most meritorious investigators funded through its First Independent Research Support & Transition (FIRST) award and the traditional investigator-initiated research project grants. Only first-time grantees who also met the eligibility criteria for the FIRST award were eligible. The 1996 NIH awardees are Dr. Ali Hemmati-Brivanlou, Rockefeller University (NICHD); Dr. Allison Jane Doupe, University of California, San Francisco (NIMH); Dr. Paul Khavari, Stanford University (NIAMS); Dr. Aron Lukacher, Emory University (NCI); Dr. Deirdre Meldrum, University of Washington (NHGRI); Dr. Lee Niswander, Sloan-Kettering Institute for Cancer Research (NICHD); Dr. David Self, Yale University (NIDA); Dr. Morgan Sheng, Massachusetts General Hospital (NINDS); Dr. Mark Walter, University of Alabama, Birmingham (NIAID); and Dr. Keith Woerpel, University of California, Irvine (NIGMS).

Up to Top