Front Page

Previous Story

Next Story

NIH Record vertical blue bar column separator
Awardees graphic

ORWH's Pinn Wins Height Award

Dr.Vivian Pinn (l) , NIH associate director for research on women's health, recently received the Dr. Dorothy I. Height Leadership Award at the 13th annual International Salute to the Life and Legacy of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., A Man for All Nations. Each year since 1992 the event planning committee has recognized the leadership and contributions of individuals and groups that have positively influenced the national and international communities. Past recipients include United Nations Secretary Kofi Annan, former U.S. Secretary of Commerce Ron Brown, former Sen. Bob Dole and former Surgeon General David Satcher. At a breakfast ceremony on Jan. 18 at the Willard Intercontinental Hotel in Washington, D.C., Pinn and fellow 2004 awardees, including former HHS secretary Dr. Louis Sullivan and French Embassador Jean-David Levitte, heard remembrances of King by Height (r) and musical tributes to his legacy of public service.

NIAID's Murphy Wins Chanock Award

Dr. Brian R. Murphy (l) , co-chief of the NIAID Laboratory of Infectious Diseases (LID), recently received the first Robert M. Chanock Award for Lifetime Achievement in RSV Research at the Biennial International Respiratory Syncytial Virus (RSV) Symposium. Murphy received the award for his world-renowned research on RSV, as well as on other viruses. RSV is a leading cause of serious respiratory disease in infants and children. Murphy and other LID scientists, including Drs. Peter Collins and Robert M. Chanock , have been working on developing a vaccine against the virus. This award was established in 2003 to honor Chanock (r) for his discovery of RSV and his subsequent commitment to RSV research. After 33 years of serving as chief, LID, Chanock recently stepped down to become a senior investigator in the lab.

Kleinman Wins APHA's Knutson Award

Dr. Dushanka Kleinman received the John W. Knutson Distinguished Service Award in Dental Public Health at the American Public Health Association (APHA) meeting held recently in San Francisco. A rear admiral in the Public Health Service Commissioned Corps, Kleinman is NIDCR deputy director and chief dental officer, PHS. She is currently on detail to the NIH Office of the Director as assistant director for roadmap coordination. Kleinman is known for her work on the epidemiology of oral mucosal tissue diseases and conditions and recently spearheaded the first-ever Surgeon General's Report on Oral Health. The Knutson award is given to those who "have made an outstanding contribution to improve oral health in the United States." At the ceremony, award committee chairman Dr. John Brown presented Kleinman with a commemorative silver plate. Additionally, she received a check from award co-sponsor Colgate Oral Pharmaceuticals, which she donated to the APHA oral health section for its educational efforts.

Up to Top