Front Page

Previous Story

Next Story

NIH Record


Churchill-Earp Joins NIDDK

Naomi Churchill-Earp recently joined NIDDK as assistant director for management after serving 4 ½ years as director of the NIH Office of Equal Opportunity. In her new position, she will provide leadership of the institute's personnel, administration, financial management, information technology and equal employment opportunity activities. Before coming to NIH, Churchill-Earp directed the EEO offices of the Federal Deposit Insurance Corp. and the U.S. Department of Agriculture and served as staff attorney for the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission. In addition to her federal experience, she was owner and principal consultant for Churchill and Associates, a business that advised management on EEO and related human resource management issues.

Poppke Elected Diversity Council Chair

Donald Poppke, associate director for administrative management at the National Library of Medicine, has been installed as the new chair of the NIH Diversity Council. Established in 1997, the council is an advisory board to the director, NIH Office of Equal Opportunity, on matters of diversity management. Recent issues the council has addressed include improving the provision of interpreting services for the deaf and hard of hearing on campus, developing a system to categorize special observances and events that NIH may authorize to use its facilities, improving disability awareness and facilities accessibility, and improving the recruitment of a diverse workforce.

"The beauty of the diversity movement is that it is all-inclusive," remarked Poppke, a member of the inaugural council who served as vice chair for the group's first 2 years and is winding up his third and final term. "For NIH to accomplish its mission to the fullest extent, it needs to provide an opportunity for all staff to reach their highest potential in the pursuit and support of science. The diversity council is one means to foster an environment that respects the individual and provide a mechanism that gives all employees a voice. Diversity promotes productivity and respect for the differences and similarities each of us brings NIH."

Eighteen individuals representating the intramural, extramural, scientific, administrative and wage-grade communities and the Commissioned Corps form the council. Meetings are held every third Wednesday and are open to the public.

IT Board Appointed

The NIH information technology board
of governors was recently appointed to advise the NIH director and the NIH chief information officer on information technology issues. Attending a recent meeting are (rear, from l) John Silva, NCI; chair Dr. Stephen Katz, NIAMS; Alan Graeff, NIH CIO; Colleen Barros, NIA; Cressie Kilcoyne, executive secretary, CIT, and Dr. Yvonne Maddox, NICHD. In front are (from l) Anthony Itteilag, OD; Dr. James Battey, NIDCD; Dr. Wendy Baldwin, OD; and Dr. David Margulies, NIAID. Not shown are MaryAnn Guerra, NCI, and Dr. David Lipman, NLM.

HACU Interns Welcomed

Seven interns from the Hispanic Association of Colleges and Universities are on campus this spring, working on a range of projects from basic research to health communications. Four are from Puerto Rican universities; the rest are studying in this country. They are (front, from l) Irma Mercado-Arevalo, Office of Communications, OD; Julio Rodriguez-Colon, Laboratory of Molecular Neuropharmacology, NINDS; Mary Raymundo, National Library of Medicine. At rear are (from l) Alejandro Gutierrez-Pons, National Institute on Drug Abuse; Manuel Carrera, Office of Extramural Research, OD; Noel Estrada-Hernandez, National Cancer Institute; and Christopher Raymond, National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research.

NIGMS Adds Council Members

NIGMS director Dr. Marvin Cassman (front, r) and deputy director Dr. W. Sue Shafer (front, l) welcome three new members to the National Advisory General Medical Sciences Council. They are (top, from l) Dr. Isiah M. Warner, the Philip W. West professor of chemistry at Louisiana State University; Dr. Robert S. Pozos, a professor of biology and assistant dean for faculty development at the college of sciences at San Diego State University; and (front, c) Dr. Leslie A. Leinwand, professor and chair of the department of molecular, cellular, and developmental biology, University of Colorado.

Up to Top