Front Page

Previous Story

Next Story

NIH Record vertical blue bar column separator
Awardees graphic

Johnson-Thompson Wins ASM's Evans Award

Dr. Marian C. Johnson-Thompson, director of education and biomedical research development, National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences, recently won the American Society for Microbiology's (ASM) 2004 Alice C. Evans Award for her contributions to the advancement and full participation of women in microbiology. Established by the ASM committee on the status of women in microbiology and supported by Roche Diagnostics Corp., the award is presented in memory of Evans, the first woman to be elected president of ASM. "In addition to a distinguished career in research and teaching," the citation noted, "Johnson-Thompson has demonstrated, at every institutional level possible, a longstanding and vigorous commitment to the advancement of women in science." A founding member of the National Network of Minority Women in Science (MWIS) and former national MWIS chair, Johnson-Thompson was also an active member of the network's advisory panel of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) and the committee on equal opportunities in science and engineering of the National Science Foundation. Branching out from her earlier research on drug resistance in breast cancer cells, Johnson-Thompson has devoted herself to environmental health policy research, with emphases on community public health and the health needs of underserved populations. Elected a fellow of the American Academy of Microbiology in 1998, she recently became a fellow of AAAS.

Miers Recognized for Volunteer Work

NIMH's John G. Miers was recognized by Rockville Mayor Larry Giammo and NPR talk-show host Kojo Nnamdi for his volunteer work on behalf of people with disabilities at a celebration in honor of the late Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., held Jan. 19 at the F. Scott Fitzgerald Theatre in Rockville. Miers, who heads the NIMH Office of Diversity and Employee Advocacy Programs, also serves as vice chair of the Montgomery County Commission on People with Disabilities. According to the citation of the F. Michael Taff Award, Miers has "worked tirelessly to confront barriers to people with disabilities and to ensure equal access in transportation, parking, home care and all other issues affecting people with disabilities who live in the county...In particular, he has shown a passion for improving access to churches and buildings, both in the public and private sector."

Up to Top