Front Page

Previous Story

Next Story

NIH Record vertical blue bar column separator

Awardees graphic

Grantees Win Benjamin Franklin Medals

NIGMS grantee Dr. K. Barry Sharpless (l) is one of six recipients of the Benjamin Franklin Medal. He is a professor in the department of chemistry at the Scripps Research Institute in La Jolla, Calif. He will receive the award, which is administered through the Franklin Institute in Philadelphia, for inventing methods that provide exquisite control of the three-dimensional shapes of synthesized molecules.

Dr. Judah Folkman (r), an NCI grantee, will also receive the medal for his research on arresting tumor growth by preventing the formation of new blood vessels.

NEI's Everett Gets Fellowship Award

Donald F. Everett, NEI program director for collaborative clinical research, received an honorary fellowship award from the American Academy of Optometry recently. He is one of only four recipients in the history of the academy to receive this award. The academy honors recipients for their outstanding contributions to vision research. Everett was recognized for his "distinguished contributions to eye care and vision research." He is responsible for overseeing multi-center clinical trials and epidemiologic studies. He has been a program director with NEI's Extramural and Collaborative Program since May 1990.

Up to Top