Front Page

Previous Story

Next Story

NIH Record vertical blue bar column separator

New Appointments graphic

NIAAA Council Gains Four

Four new members were recently named to the National Advisory Council on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism. They are Dr. Sandra Ann Brown, professor of psychology and psychiatry at the University of California San Diego, La Jolla; Dr. Raul Caetano, professor of epidemiology and assistant dean of the School of Public Health, University of Texas Health Sciences Center, Houston; Dr. George F. Koob, director of the division of psychopharmacology in the department of neuro-pharmacology, Scripps Research Institute, La Jolla; and Dr. Steven M. Mirin, medical director of the American Psychiatric Association and professor of psychiatry at Harvard Medical School.

Brown's areas of research expertise include etiologic factors in alcohol and drug abuse, and cognitive and pharmacologic reinforcement characteristics of alcohol and other drugs.

With NIAAA director Dr. Enoch Gordis (c) are new advisory council members (from l) Drs. Raul Caetano, George F. Koob, Sandra Ann Brown and Steven M. Mirin.

Caetano is an authority on the epidemiology of alcohol problems, especially among blacks and Hispanics.

Koob, who directs the Alcohol Research Center at the Scripps Institute, is a behavioral neuropharmacologist and a leading expert on reinforcement, reward and behavioral mechanisms of action of alcohol and other drugs of abuse.

Mirin is a leader in the field of alcohol and other drug abuse treatment and research, and is a member of the Council on Neuroscience and Behavioral Health of the Institute of Medicine.

Four Appointed to NIDDK Advisory Council

Four new members were recently named to the advisory council of the National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases.

Dave Baldridge is executive director of the National Indian Council on Aging and author of numerous articles and monographs on health care for American Indian elders.

Dr. Jose F. Caro is vice president of endocrine research and clinical investigation for Lilly Research Laboratories, and professor of medicine at Indiana University School of Medicine, both in Indianapolis.

Dr. Carolyn J. Kelly is a nephrologist and professor of medicine in residence at the University of California, San Diego, and a long-standing NIDDK grantee whose research focus is autoimmune disease and immunoregulation.

NIDDK director Dr. Allen Spiegel (second from r) welcomes council members (from l) Dr. Jose F. Caro, Dr. Vicki Ratner, Dr. Carolyn J. Kelly and Dave Baldridge.

Dr. Vicki Ratner is president and founder of the Interstitial Cystitis Association. A practicing orthopedic surgeon in San Jose, she has advocated since 1984 for patients suffering from interstitial cystitis, a painful, chronic bladder disease that mostly affects women.

Montalvo Joins CSR Review Staff

Dr. Eduardo Montalvo recently joined the Center for Scientific Review as scientific review administrator for the AIDS-related research study section AARR-4. He also will coordinate the review of all AIDS-related Small Business Innovative Research grants. After receiving his Ph.D. in microbiology, Montalvo had postdoctoral training in the department of molecular biology at Princeton University. He then went to the University of Texas Health Science Center in San Antonio, where he was an assistant professor spearheading research on cellular proteins critical to the life cycle of the Epstein-Barr virus. He also investigated various aspects of human herpesvirus 8, a virus associated with the development of Kaposi's sarcoma in AIDS patients.

Up to Top