Front Page

Previous Story

Next Story

NIH Record


Dr. John Bowers

Dr. John Bowers recently joined the Referral and Review Branch, Division of Research Grants, as scientific review administrator of the metallobiochemistry study section. Prior to coming to NIH, he held faculty positions with Harvard Medical School and research positions in the department of radiological sciences at Deaconess Hospital, Boston. He has published more than 40 scientific articles and presentations, and has received a number of honors, including an undergraduate research fellowship in clinical chemistry at Hartford Hospital and awards from honor societies.

Dr. Norka Ruiz Bravo

Dr. Norka Ruiz Bravo was recently appointed deputy director of NCI's Division of Cancer Biology. Prior to coming to NIH in 1990, she was an assistant professor in the departments of urology and cell biology at Baylor College of Medicine. Ruiz Bravo was a program director in the Genetic Mechanisms Branch of the Division of Genetics and Developmental Biology, NIGMS. In addition, she served in a number of special assignments, including acting deputy director for the Division of Minority Opportunities in Research, NIGMS; and special assistant to the deputy director for extramural activities, NIGMS. Currently, she chairs the staff training in extramural programs (STEP) committee, which is responsible for offering training opportunities of interest to NIH extramural staff.

NIDDK Advisory Council Gains Nine

NIDDK welcomed nine new members to its advisory council recently.

The six new members who will review grants in diabetes, endocrine and metabolic diseases are Dr. David Harlan, director of the immune cell biology program at the Naval Medical Institute; Dr. Judith Bond, professor and chair of the department of biochemistry and molecular biology at Pennsylvania State University; Ruby Haughton, vice president for government relations at U.S. Bancorp, in Portland, Ore.; Dr. S. Robert Levine, founder and chair of the Health Corporation and a member of the international board of directors of the Juvenile Diabetes Foundation International; Dr. Jerrold Olefsky, professor of medicine at the University of California, San Diego, and chief of the endocrine and metabolic section at the VA hospital in La Jolla, Calif.; and Dr. James Rothman, vice chair of Sloan-Kettering Institute.

NIDDK director Dr. Phillip Gorden (top, c) welcomes new councillors (top, from l) Dr. S. Robert Levine, Dr. Jerrold Olefsky, Dr. George Stamatoyannopoulos, Dr. Eric Neilson; (bottom, from l) Dr. David Harlan, Dr. Barbara Hayes, Dr. Judith Bond, and Ruby Haughton.

Three other new members will review grant applications for kidney, urologic, and hematologic diseases. They are Dr. Barbara Hayes, assistant dean for academic affairs at Texas Southern University Graduate School in Houston; Dr. Eric Neilson, a C. Mahlon Kline professor of medicine and pediatrics at the University of Pennsylvania; and Dr. George Stamatoyannopoulos, professor of genetics at the University of Washington.

Four Join NIAMS Council

NIAMS recently welcomed four new members to its national advisory council. They are Dr. Eugene A. Bauer, Dr. Victor M. Goldberg, Amye L. Leong and Dr. Morris Reichlin.

Dean of the School of Medicine at Stanford University Medical Center, Bauer is a national and international leader in the field of dermatology and skin biology research.

Goldberg, chairman of Case Western Reserve University's department of orthopaedics, is an expert in the areas of allografts of bone and of orthopaedic implants.

NIAMS director Dr. Stephen I. Katz (third from l) and deputy director Dr. Steven J. Hausman (r) welcome new members to the institute's council. They are (from l) Dr. Victor M. Goldberg, Dr. Eugene A. Bauer, Amye L. Leong and Dr. Morris Reichlin.

Leong is a health motivational speaker and arthritis patient advocate from San Pedro Peninsula, Calif., who specializes in health promotion, wellness in chronic disease management, self-help attitudes, and family and personal coping strategies.

Head of the Arthritis and Immunology Program at the University of Oklahoma College of Medicine, Oklahoma Medical Research Foundation, Reichlin is an international authority on clinical immunology, particularly in the field of systemic lupus erythematosus, and has defined several of the antigenic targets in lupus and other connective tissue diseases.

Up to Top