Front Page

Previous Story

Next Story

NIH Record vertical blue bar column separator

Awardees graphic

NIGMS Program Directors Honored

Two NIGMS minority program directors were among recent recipients of the Presidential Award for Excellence in Science, Mathematics, and Engineering Mentoring. The awards, presented annually, recognize influential institutions and individuals who have been leaders in encouraging minorities, women and disabled persons to pursue careers in the scientific and engineering labor force. The recipients included Dr. Therese Markow (above), a Regents professor of ecology and evolutionary biology at the University of Arizona, Tucson, and Dr. Bharati Mehrotra (below), a professor of biology at Tougaloo College in Mississippi. Markow is the former Minority Access to Research Careers (MARC) program director at Arizona State University and is currently the institutional research and academic career development awards director at the University of Arizona. Mehrotra is the MARC program director at Tougaloo College. Markow and Mehrotra were among 10 individuals and 10 institutions who received awards. The awards were established by the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy in 1996 and are administered through the National Science Foundation. Award recipients attended a ceremony in Washington, D.C., and were presented with a $10,000 grant and a commemorative Presidential certificate.

AAN Honors NINDS's Moore

Dr. David Moore, a clinical fellow in the NINDS Developmental and Metabolic Neurology Branch, was recently selected to receive the S. Weir Mitchell Award from the American Academy of Neurology. The award is given annually to a junior AAN member who is senior author of a research-based manuscript, and is designed to encourage basic research in neuroscience by physicians in clinical neurology training programs.

Dr. David Moore

Moore's manuscript, "White Matter Lesions in Fabry Disease Occur in Prior Selectively Hypometabolic and Hyperperfused Brain Regions: A Pathophysiological Model of Leukoaraiosis," describes his recent work on the etiology of leukoaraiosis in Fabry disease. Leukoaraiosis is a term applied to abnormal areas of white matter found on computed tomography or magnetic resonance imaging scans of the brain. These areas often develop during normal aging, have been associated with decreased speed of thinking and mild memory impairment, and may be caused by impaired blood vessel control and decreased white matter blood flow over a long period of time. A more complete understanding of the mechanisms involved in the development of leukoaraiosis could lead to treatment strategies to prevent the cognitive decline associated with this disorder.

Since coming to NINDS, Moore has also received the 2001 Oldendorf Award from the American Society of Neuroimaging and the NIH Bench-to-Bedside Award in 2001. With the Mitchell award, which is named for a noted neurologist and one of the "fathers" of American neurology, Moore will receive $1,000 and a medallion.

Up to Top