Front Page

Previous Story

Next Story

NIH Record Awardees

Hallett Honored in Rome

Dr. Mark Hallett, NINDS clinical director, recently won the Fifth Biennial Award on Neuroscience (5 Primio di Neuroscienze) from the Associazione Fatebenefratelli per la Ricerca (Fatebenefratelli Association for Research) in Rome. He was chosen for the important contributions he has made to understanding the pathophysiology of several different movement disorders including Parkinson's disease, dystonia, myoclonus and cerebellar ataxia. His award lecture, titled "Plasticity of the Human Brain," described his recent work on how plasticity plays an important role in reorganization of the brain resulting from peripheral injury, recovery from stroke, dystonia, and motor learning. The Fate-benefratelli organization owns more than 200 hospitals in 45 countries.

Cohen Receives Award in Germany

Dr. Leonardo Cohen, chief of the human cortical physiology section of NINDS's Medical Neurology Branch, recently received an Alexander von Humboldt Research Award in Tuebingen, Germany. Sponsored by the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation, the award is given to foreign scholars whose academic accomplishments are recognized worldwide to foster long-term cooperation between foreign and German researchers. Cohen was chosen for his research on the plasticity of the human central nervous system. His work focuses on understanding the mechanisms underlying plastic changes, the development of novel therapeutic approaches for recovery of function, and the assessment of plastic changes in human motor function after a variety of interventions and injuries such as stroke, spinal cord injury and amputations. Each year the foundation grants up to 150 research awards. The foundation is a nonprofit organization that enables highly qualified foreign scholars who hold doctorates to carry out long-term research projects in Germany.

Two NIH Scientists Elected to NAS

Two NIH investigators — Drs. John M. Coffin and Robert Desimone — are among the 60 new members and 15 foreign associates elected Apr. 27 to the National Academy of Sciences in recognition of their distinguished and continuing achievements in original research. The election was held during NAS' 136th annual meeting.

Coffin is director, HIV drug resistance program, National Cancer Institute in Frederick, Md., and American Cancer Society research professor at Tufts University School of Medicine, Boston.

Desimone is scientific director at the National Institute of Mental Health and chief of the Laboratory of Neuropsychology.

Election to membership in the academy is considered one of the highest honors that can be accorded a U.S. scientist or engineer. The April election brings the total number of active members to 1,825.

NAS is a private organization of scientists and engineers dedicated to the furtherance of science and its use for the general welfare. It was established in 1863 by a congressional act of incorporation, signed by Abraham Lincoln, that calls on NAS to act as an official adviser to the federal government.

Up to Top