Front Page

Previous Story

Next Story

NIH Record vertical blue bar column separator
Awardees graphic

NLM's Lipman Elected to NAS

Dr. David J. Lipman, director of the National Center for Biotechnology Information at the National Library of Medicine, has been elected to membership in the National Academy of Sciences. He is one of 72 new members voted into an organization whose total active membership numbers 1,922. The election took place on Apr. 29, at the 140th annual meeting of the academy. Membership in NAS is considered one of the highest honors that can be accorded a U.S. scientist or engineer.

The academy is a private organization of scientists and engineers dedicated to the furtherance of science and its use for the general welfare. It was established in 1863 by a congressional act of incorporation, signed by Abraham Lincoln, which calls on NAS to act as an official adviser to the federal government, upon request, in any matter of science or technology.

NIA's Mattson Cited Most Often

Dr. Mark Mattson, chief of NIA's Laboratory of Neurosciences, ranks number one in the neuroscience and behavior category, based on citations to his published papers in the past decade, according to Science Watch, an Institute for Scientific Information (ISI) publication. Since 1993, 254 of Mattson's papers have generated 12,916 citations. NIA grantees John Trojanowski, Fred Gage and Nobel Laureate Eric Kandel also were among the top 20 scientists cited in this category. Science Watch tracks trends and performance in basic research utilizing bibliographic and citation information that the ISI collects from its multidisciplinary database of thousands of influential, peer-reviewed journals. Science Watch ( plans to publish an interview with Mattson soon.

Kitt Honored by Pain Society

Dr. Cheryl Kitt, director of the NIAMS Extramural Program, received the American Pain Society's John and Emma Bonica Public Service Award from the society's president, Dr. Richard Payne, recently. The award recognizes outstanding contributions by an individual or organization through public education, public service or other vehicles to communicate information about pain.

Amon Receives Waterman Award

NIGMS grantee Dr. Angelika Amon is this year's recipient of the Alan T. Waterman Award, an annual prize recognizing exceptional young researchers in science or engineering. Amon is an associate professor of biology and an assistant Howard Hughes Medical Institute investigator at the Center for Cancer Research at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. Her research involves studying how cells copy and distribute genetic material during the cell cycle of growth and division. The Waterman Award was established by Congress in 1975 and is administered through the National Science Foundation. Amon received a $500,000 grant, a citation and a bronze medal at a May 21 ceremony in Washington, D.C.

Up to Top