Front Page

Previous Story

Next Story

NIH Record


AAAS Honors Three from NIH

Three NIH scientists are among 146 fellows elected to membership in the American Academy of Arts and Sciences on Apr. 17; they will be formally inducted in ceremonies Oct. 3 in Cambridge, Mass.

Dr. Francis Collins

They are: NHGRI director Dr. Francis Collins; Dr. Reed B. Wickner, chief, Laboratory of Biochemistry and Genetics, NIDDK; and Dr. Carl Wu, chief, Laboratory of Molecular Cell Biology, NCI.

Dr. Reed B. Wickner

The academy, founded in 1780 by John Adams and other leaders of the young republic, was created as a learned society to "cultivate every art and science which may tend to advance the interest, honor, dignity, and happiness of a free, independent and virtuous people." It addresses important national issues through interdisciplinary and collaborative projects and publications, including its quarterly journal Daedalus.

Dr. Carl Wu

This year's inductees join a membership of some 4,000 fellows nationwide, including 160 Nobel laureates and 65 Pulitzer Prize winners.

NINDS's McFarland Awarded Dystel Prize

Dr. Henry McFarland, chief of NINDS's Neuroimmunology Branch, recently received the John Jay Dystel Prize for Multiple Sclerosis Research at the annual American Academy of Neurology meeting in Minneapolis. Sponsored by AAN and the National Multiple Sclerosis Society, the prize was established by Marion and Oscar Dystel of Purchase, N.Y., whose son developed MS. McFarland, who received a $7,500 prize and presented a lecture titled "Evolving Concepts of the Natural History of the Lesion in MS," was honored for his outstanding clinical and investigative contributions. Many of his publications serve as guidelines for others conducting research on MS.

Up to Top