Front Page

Previous Story

Next Story

NIH Record vertical blue bar column separator

Awardees graphic

Klebanoff Honored by Hopkins

Dr. Mark A. Klebanoff, director of the Division of Epidemiology, Statistics, and Prevention Research, NICHD, was inducted into the Johns Hopkins Society of Scholars on May 22. The society, established in 1967 by university trustees, honors distinguished former post-doctoral fellows of the university. Klebanoff received his M.D. from Johns Hopkins and an M.P.H. from its School of Hygiene and Public Health. His research interests focus on the epidemiology of pregnancy complications, particularly preterm birth and reduced fetal growth.

Elkashef Is Corps' Physician of the Year

Dr. Ahmed M. Elkashef, chief, Clinical Medical Branch, Division of Treatment Research and Development, National Institute on Drug Abuse, has received the Physician Researcher of the Year Award from the Commissioned Corps. He was honored for his accomplishments in clinical trials research and administration. In a little more than 2 years at NIDA, he has fashioned both clinical pharmacology sites and a clinical trials group in the continental United States and Hawaii capable of performing studies of potential pharmacotherapies for the treatment of cocaine and methamphetamine dependence. He has also provided technical assistance to Thailand in its efforts to deal with an epidemic of methamphetamine abuse and addiction, and in setting up clinical sites to participate with the U.S. methamphetamine clinical trials group.

Up to Top