Front Page

Previous Story

Next Story

NIH Record vertical blue bar column separator

Awardees graphic

Two Named to Philosophical Society

NIAID director Dr. Anthony Fauci and NHLBI Nobel laureate Dr. Marshall Nirenberg, chief of the Laboratory of Biochemical Genetics, have been elected to the American Philosophical Society, the oldest learned society in the United States, having been founded by Benjamin Franklin and his associates more than 250 years ago.

Today it is an international organization that promotes excellence and useful knowledge in the sciences and humanities through scholarly research, professional meetings, publications, library resources and community outreach.

Thirty-eight American members were elected to APS, as well as nine foreign members at the society's recent annual meeting in Philadelphia. The society now has 868 elected members, 728 from the U.S. and 140 from more than two dozen foreign countries. Early members included George Washington, John Adams, Thomas Jefferson and James Madison.

Up to Top