Front Page

Previous Story

Next Story

NIH Record vertical blue bar column separator

Awardees graphic

ASCO Honors Greenwald

Dr. Peter Greenwald, who has developed, nurtured, and quantified the field of cancer prevention, received the American Society of Clinical Oncology's 2002 American Cancer Society Award at ASCO's annual meeting on May 18. He is director of the Division of Cancer Prevention, NCI. The award is given to an individual who has contributed significantly to the prevention and control of cancer. As founding director of the Division of Cancer Prevention, he has created and directed a program of research that incorporates not only basic scientific investigations into early biomarkers of disease but complements that with the research of social scientists, educators and cross-cultural communication experts. Under Greenwald's direction, the full gamut of clinical research, public health and communications techniques work together, resulting in programs that aim for a significant reduction in cancer incidence, morbidity and mortality.

ADP Holds Annual Awards Ceremony

Employees who have made outstanding contributions to information technology use in the extramural community were recognized recently by the NIH ADP extramural program coordination committee, which held its annual award ceremony on May 22. Chairperson Mary Ann Williamson made the presentations.

Certificates of achievement were awarded to Stephen Hughes, NCI, for serving as chair of the IMPAC II technical coordinators meetings and as application programming interface advocate for IMPAC II; and to members of the IMPAC II reporting database redesign team, for continued efforts to improve accessibility of data: Carol S. Martin of NHGRI, and from OD/OER Johnnie Pearson, Leena Dilawari, Vish Kaliappan, Lhadj Moumena, Amir Venegas and James Tucker.

Certificates of appreciation were awarded to Cathy Buckley, CIT, for significant contribution to the NIH Query/View Reporting System development; Gregory Fischetti, NCI, for providing outstanding leadership as 2001 chair of the NIH ADP-EP coordination committee; Julie McDermott, OER, for exceptional service and support to the NIH extramural business community; and Anne Robertson, NIDDK, for service over many years to the ADP extramural program coordination committee.

Up to Top