Front Page

Previous Story

Next Story

NIH Record


ADP Community Honors Seven

The ADP/EP coordination committee awards for 1998 were presented to seven people who have provided outstanding service to the NIH extramural community. Four of the recipients won achievement awards for their efforts to develop the new IMPAC II and three received certificates of appreciation for service to the committee.

Certificates of appreciation were presented to Carol Martin, NHGRI, for her outstanding leadership during her tenure as chair of the committee, to Dean Hill, NIDR, for her reliable distribution of committee information and safekeeping of minutes dating back to 1974, to Cindy Eckley, NINDS, who is current recording secretary and to Amir Venegas, from ROW, who has used his problem-solving skills to help extramural users learn to use the IMPAC II system.

Achievement awards went to Tim Twomey, OER, for his persistent efforts to communicate and resolve issues arising from IMPAC II development, Nancy Bavisotto, NIAID, for personal initiative in forming the Power View user's group and Steve Hughes, NCI, whose collaborative efforts with the Tech View user's group have enhanced communications in the IMPAC II development effort.

Kudos for NIH's Grants Managers

The first NIH Grants Management Award ceremony recently took place in Natcher auditorium -- more than 200 grants managers attended what is expected to become a yearly convocation.

One hundred six of them were recognized for participating in the new HHS Grants Management Professional Certification Program, which establishes levels of proficiency and rewards attainment.

Two years ago, the grants management community unveiled its vision for the future in a paper entitled, "NIH Business Research Administration: Charting the Future." Progress so far includes establishing best business practices, revising grant administration policy and procedure, and creating SMARTs -- subject matter advisory and resource teams. Eighteen SMARTs are now available to address specific topics.

The community has also inaugurated monthly professional development seminars, and created the GMAC Infonet Web site, which is the model for the newly established Office of Extramural Research site.

Princler Honored by Blue Cross/Blue Shield

Gerald L. Princler (r), lab manager for the Laboratory of Biochemical Physiology, NCI-FCRDC, recently received the Blue Cross/Blue Shield Distinguished Federal Employee Award from Bill Gray of BC/BS at a ceremony in Frederick. Nominated by his coworkers, Princler was honored for "outstanding contributions to the agency, the community and to others," including work as a member of HHS's Disaster Medical Assistance Team and volunteer service at a local soup kitchen and homeless shelter.

Hurley Named 1998 Outstanding Young Scientist

Dr. James H. Hurley, chief of the unit on signal transduction in NIDDK's Laboratory of Molecular Biology, was recently named Maryland's 1998 Outstanding Young Scientist. He was chosen for his use of X-ray crystallography to understand the protein machines that carry critical communications across cell membranes. Hurley joined NIDDK in 1992 as a tenure-track investigator and became a senior investigator in 1997. The annual award is sponsored by the Maryland Academy of Sciences to celebrate extraordinary contributions of young scientists and engineers. Hurley was selected from among 10 scientists under age 40 who reside in Maryland. He received $2,500, a framed certificate, and the Allan C. Davis Medal of the academy.

Small Business Office Offers Honors

The NIH Small Business Office recently honored two contractors for outstanding contributions to NIH and "stellar" contract performance: Stevenson Group Contracting, Inc., of Gaithersburg and Biotechnical Services, Inc., of Little Rock, Ark. NIH associate director for administration Dr. Leamon Lee presented the awards with Diane Frasier, director, Office of Contracts Management, at the office's first-ever awards ceremony.

The two firms also won DHHS Contractor of the Year awards in a separate event. At that gathering, Frasier and John P. Campbell, Jr., were named "Federal Official of the Year," for their exceptional support of the department's small business program.

For more information about NIH's small business program, call 496-9639 or visit its Web site at

Up to Top