Front Page

Previous Story

Next Story

NIH Record


NIH Named Employer of the Year

NIH was recently nominated by TranCen staff and named Employer of the Year by the Marriott Bridges Program, which helps students with disabilities make the transition from school to work. The program was introduced at NIH in April 1990 and NIH has placed approximately 85 students in jobs here since then. Due in large part to the outstanding efforts of NHLBI's Dr. Ron Geller, who pioneered the agency's involvement in Bridges, NIH has grown to become the largest supporter of the program in Montgomery County. Shown above at the ceremony are former President George Bush (r) and Marriott executive Richard Marriott (l), who presented the award to Tony Itteilag (second from l), NIH deputy director for management, and Carlton Coleman, diversity program manager, NIH Office of Equal Opportunity.

NIH Recognized by Montgomery County

NIH recently was recognized for its continuing contribution to the citizens and businesses of Montgomery County. An award was presented to the agency by George Griffin (second from r), on behalf of County Executive Doug Duncan, and by representatives of the county Chamber of Commerce Steven Robins (l) and Paul Gervas (r). Accepting the award are Janyce Hedetniemi, director, NIH Office of Community Liaison, and Dr. Leamon Lee, NIH associate director for administration.

NIDDK Scientists Recognized by the
Washington Academy of Sciences

Dr. Herbert Tabor, chief of the Laboratory of Biochemical Pharmacology, investigates the biochemical functions of polyamines. Along with Drs. Celia Tabor and Sanford Rosenthal, he discovered the biosynthetic pathway for polyamines and showed their importance in growth and development. He won the academy's highest award, the Distinguished and Outstanding Career in Science Award. He was cited for his biochemical research, his leadership in training and mentoring three generations of scientists, and his service as chief editor of the Journal of Biological Chemistry.

Dr. Paul Torrence

Dr. Paul Torrence, chief of the section on biochemical chemistry, researches the chemistry and biochemistry of a unique oligonucleotide called the 2'-5' oligoadenylate, the 2-5A system. His investigations have led to a wholly new approach to the targeted destruction of mRNA. This technology has promise for novel therapies for viral infections, inflammatory and cardiovascular disease, and certain cancers. Torrence received the Outstanding Achievement in the Health Sciences Award.

Dr. E. Neil Lewis

Dr. E. Neil Lewis, a scientist in the Laboratory of Chemical Physics, sits in Bldg. 5 behind a door marked "DANGER - Laser in Operation," where he conceived of and developed a powerful, nondestructive tool to probe the chemical composition of complex biological systems. His infrared absorption and Raman emission microscopes can detect silicone gel in human breast tissue and other samples as small as 1 micron without damaging the sample. He won the Outstanding Achievement in the Physical Sciences Award.

Achievement Awards and Certificates of Appreciation

Achievement awards and certificates of appreciation were presented at a recent meeting of the automatic data processing extramural programs (ADP/EP) coordination committee by Chairperson Carol Martin (second from l). A group achievement award for being instrumental in the development and deployment of an NIH collaborative council book application was presented to Carolyn McHale (c), Tom Mason (l), and Donald Tiedemann (not shown). An individual achievement award for leadership of the information technology central committee was given to Colleen Barros (second from r). Michael Cox (r) received an individual achievement award for providing creative leadership in the development of the ERA training activities initiative. A certificate of appreciation for a lifetime career of achievements in the service of the NIH computing community was given to McHale. Jim Hill (third from l) received a certificate of appreciation for a long and fruitful career at NIH as a systems programmer. A certificate of appreciation was presented to Lynda Bennett (third from r) for outstanding leadership of the ADP/EP coordination committee during her tenure as chair.

Up to Top