Front Page

Previous Story

Next Story

NIH Record vertical blue bar column separator

New Appointments graphic

New Members Join Director's Council

Nine individuals have been selected to serve as members of the NIH director's Council of Public Representatives. COPR advises the director on broad issues of public interest such as health disparities, public input and participation and human research protections. Members also participate in numerous NIH initiatives, work groups and review panels, as well as take part in public outreach activities around the country. They join 12 current members of the council.

"These new members bring a wealth of knowledge and professional experience in the areas of medicine, public service, journalism and public affairs as well as a strong commitment to the advancement of public health and medical research," said NIH director Dr. Elias Zerhouni.

The new members include James J. Armstrong of Cleveland, who works in public affairs and health education; Dr. Ruth C. Browne, a clinical professor from Brooklyn; Barbara D. Butler, a lupus patient advocate from St. Louis; Dr. Frances J. Dunston, a pediatrics and public health professor in Atlanta; Dr. Rafael Gonzalez-Amezcua, physician, clinical instructor and TV host in San Francisco; Jim Jensen, state senator from Lincoln, Neb.; Dr. Dawna Torres Mughal, a dietician and professor from Erie, Pa.; William D. Novelli, AARP executive director based in Washington, D.C.; and Dr. Ellen V. Sigal, a cancer research advocate from Washington, D.C.

The new members attended COPR's April 2003 meeting on campus. During the meeting, COPR heard from two new institute directors: Dr. Ting-Kai Li of the National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism and Dr. Roderic Pettigrew of the National Institute of Biomedical Imaging and Bioengineering spoke about their institutes' activities and plans. It was also Zerhouni's second meeting with COPR, which he chairs.

Five new members are sought for 3-year terms starting in April 2004. Applications are due on Sept. 15, and can be found online at

The next COPR meeting will be in October on the NIH campus.

On hand for a recent COPR meeting were (front row, from l) Bill Novelli, Ruth Kirschstein, Elias Zerhouni, Raynard Kington, Zelda Tetenbaum, Dawna Torres Mughal. In row 2 are (from l) Ellen Sigal, Evelyn Bromet, Larry Sadwin, Len Tamura, Rodrigo Munoz, Frances Dunston, Barbara D. Butler, Debra S. Hall. In row 3 are (from l) Ted Mala, Ellen Grant, Nancye Buelow, Ruth Browne, John Shlofrock, Jim Armstrong, Jim Jensen, Rafael Gonzalez-Amezcua, Don Tykeson. Not shown is Kim Hinton.

Up to Top