Front Page

Previous Story

Next Story

NIH Record vertical blue bar column separator

Awardees graphic

CancerNet Wins Web Health Awards

The National Cancer Institute's CancerNet web site has won two awards for presenting health information on the Internet. The WWW Health Awards Spring Competition (winners announced July 21) honored CancerNet with a Gold Award in the Patient Education Information category and awarded CancerNet a special honor for Best Site Structure and Navigation. No other site in the Patient Education Information category earned a Gold Award, the highest rating given by the WWW Health Awards. Entrants in the competition were evaluated by a panel of judges representing the Internet and healthcare industries and were judged on content, creativity and overall presentation.

CancerNet was also named a 2000 Web Business 50/50 Award winner by CIO Magazine. The July 1 issue of CIO honors the top 50 Internet and top 50 intranet sites that demonstrate the ability to blend technology and design of their web site with the needs of their target audience. A panel of 19 editors, writers, designers and web experts chose CancerNet as a winner from more than 700 nominated sites.

Baxevanis Wins Honor from Greece

Dr. Andreas Baxevanis, associate director of NHGRI's Division of Intramural Research, has been selected as one of four recipients of this year's Bodossaki Foundation Academic Prizes. The award is Greece's highest honor for young academics and scientists of Greek heritage throughout the world.

Baxevanis, 38, an expert in the burgeoning field of bioinformatics&emdash;which applies computer analysis to help identify genes in the 3 billion chemical units of DNA that are being deciphered by the Human Genome Project&emdash;received the prize from Greece President Konstantinos Stephanopoulos at the University of Athens. Baxevanis is the son of Greek immigrants to the United States.

Established in 1993, the prizes are awarded annually to scholars of Greek descent under the age of 40. The prizes honor promising young researchers in one of four academic fields: physical science and mathematics, applied science, social and economic sciences, and medicine and biology. Each prizewinner receives 8.7 million drachmas (about $25,000).

Radiation Team Wins Literary Award

Members of NIH's Radiation Safety Branch were recently honored at the 2000 USPHS Engineering Literary Awards, held during a PHS professional meeting in Phoenix. The awards are presented annually to recognize the written works of engineers and architects within the Public Health Service.

The RSB entry was an article published in the July/August 1999 issue of the journal RSO Magazine, on the "Radiation Safety Program at the National Institutes of Health." The authors were William Holcomb (now retired and former radiation safety training officer); Robert Zoon, NIH radiation safety officer and chief of the RSB; Sean Austin, chief of the RSB radioactive materials control section; and Nancy Newman, chief of the radiation safety operations section.

This was the first time NIH was a winner since the literary awards were started in 1995.

Up to Top