Front Page

Previous Story

Next Story

NIH Record


Dr. Rao Rapaka

Dr. Rao Rapaka, chief, Basic Neurobiology and Biological Systems Branch, National Institute on Drug Abuse, is the 1997 recipient of the J. Michael Morrison Award. He was recognized by the College on Problems of Drug Dependence in Nashville recently for his unwavering commitment to science, and its advancement toward providing solutions to the problems of drug abuse in society. Rapaka has demonstrated outstanding leadership and administrative skills, providing enthusiasm and technical expertise to the efforts of investigators. He has been involved in the development of the Drug Research Resource Program, which ensures that chemicals and drugs are available to grantees to further their research. The Morrison award is given every other year for outstanding contributions in scientific administration related to research on drugs of abuse, and includes an inscribed plaque.

Dr. John Ruffin

Dr. John Ruffin, NIH associate director for research on minority health, recently received the 1997 Samuel L. Kountz Award at a joint conference of the International Transplant Congresses held in Washington, D.C. Transplant experts from more than 50 countries attended the conference. Kountz, the first African American transplant surgeon in the U.S., earned an international reputation for his devotion to patient welfare and strong support of transplantation research. Ruffin was recognized for successful efforts in carrying forward Kountz's vision of the future, including work with NIDDK on the National Minority Organ and Tissue Transplant Education Program, which has been successful in increasing the number of minority organ/tissue donors.

Up to Top