Front Page

Previous Story

Next Story

NIH Record


Dr. George P. Chrousos

Dr. George P. Chrousos, director of NICHD's Pediatric Endocrinology Program, was recently doubly honored for his pioneering research. He was the recipient of the 1997 Endocrine Society Clinical Investigator Award from the U.S. Endocrine Society for major achievements in clinical investigation, and the 1997 Hans Selye Award from the Hans Selye Foundation for outstanding contributions to stress research. Chrousos' contributions have included research on the regulation of the hypothalamic-pituitary-adrenal axis and the pathophysiologic and molecular mechanisms of the syndromes of glucocorticoid hormone resistance and congenital isolated glucocorticoid deficiency.

NIAID's Division of Microbiology and Infectious Diseases

NIAID's Division of Microbiology and Infectious Diseases was recently honored by the Food and Drug Administration with the Commissioner's Special Citation. DMID was cited for "exceeding the limits of duty" in assisting the review of an NIAID-sponsored acellular pertussis vaccine trial. On hand for the award are (from l) Dr. Michael A. Friedman, FDA lead deputy commissioner, and Dr. Kathryn C. Zoon, director of FDA's Center for Biologics Evaluation and Research (CBER), who congratulate DMID director Dr. John R. La Montagne, Dr. David L. Klein, Mark J. VanRaden and Maria A. Deloria. The NIAID team's intimate knowledge of the complex data sets helped CBER complete successful and timely statistical and clinical reviews. Without the help, the thorough and punctual review of the pertussis vaccine data could not have been accomplished. The award citation says, "Such spirit of cooperation between two government agencies in the interest of serving the public health needs of children all over the world represents the U.S. federal government at its best and consequently deserves special recognition."

FCRDC Play and Learning Station Receives NAEYC Accreditation

NCI's Frederick Cancer Research and Development Center Child Care Center, known as Play and Learning Station (PALS), was recently granted accreditation by the National Association for the Education of Young Children (NAEYC). This recognition has been achieved by only about 5 percent of early childhood programs nationwide. PALS provides child care services for employees of the FCRDC located within the boundaries of Fort Detrick in Frederick, Md. The center serves up to 47 children, ages 6 weeks to 5 years old. Opened in 1995, PALS is operated under an NCI contract with Science Applications International Corp. NAEYC accreditation is a rigorous, voluntary process by which early childhood programs demonstrate that they consistently meet national standards of excellence. Child care centers, preschools, kindergartens, and before- and after-school programs are eligible to seek the accreditation.

Small Business Person of the Year

David Giuliani, president and CEO of Optiva Corp. and developer of the first sonic toothbrush for home use, was recently named Small Business Person of the Year. The award culminates nearly a decade of work that was initiated by a grant from NIDR. Beginning with a technology patented at the University of Washington, Giuliani started the Seattle-based Optiva in 1988 with five employees in a one-room office. With the aid of a $550,000 Small Business Innovative Research grant from NIDR, the first sonic toothbrush came to market in 1992. By 1996, the company had manufactured its 1 millionth sonic brush and was recognized by Inc. magazine as the second fastest growing firm in America. By then, the company had grown to 340 employees occupying a 40,000-square foot building.

NCI Clinicians Named Top Doctors

Good Housekeeping magazine has named Drs. Edward L. Trimble and Michael A. Steller, both of the National Cancer Institute, to its list of "The Best Doctors for Women." Trimble is head of the surgery section in NCI's Clinical Investigations Branch and Steller heads the section of gynecologic oncology in the Surgery Branch. Both see patients with gynecologic cancer at the Clinical Center, Walter Reed Army Medical Center, and Johns Hopkins Hospital.

Doctors on the list, which appeared in the magazine's August issue, were nominated by more than 260 ob/gyn heads at major medical centers around the country.

Up to Top