Front Page

Previous Story

Next Story

NIH Record

This Year, Foil the Flu

The approaching flu season inspires a touch of dread in everyone. But there is a weapon -- flu immunization -- to help foil the flu.

Because the flu can spread rapidly and easily from one person to another, getting a flu immunization has an added benefit: if you don't get it, you can't give it to anyone else.

Millions of people suffer annually with the flu, which can be a dangerous disease. Each year, the flu and its complications hospitalize between 250,000 and 500,000 Americans and kill almost 20,000. Because of these serious consequences, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention recommends flu immunization. A flu shot every year is urged for people: with chronic pulmonary or cardiovascular diseases; over 64 years old; who have been treated in the past year for conditions such as renal dysfunction, chronic metabolic disease; who are immunosuppressed; working in settings with high-risk populations such as the Clinical Center.

Immunization is necessary every year for two main reasons: The types of flu virus are different every year, and the immunization effect lasts only about 6 months. Few people have any side effects or reactions to the vaccination.

NIH employees are fortunate because they can get flu immunizations free at the worksite and without an appointment.

Influenza Immunization Clinic Schedule 1996
October 16 - November 22

                 
               After Nov. 22, immunizations given by appointment only
                
               On Campus Clinics
               Bldg. 10, Rm. 6C306
                               
               Last names beginning with: 
                
               A, B    Nov. 7, Thur.   7:30 - 11 a.m.  1 - 2 p.m.      
               C, D    Nov. 12, Tues.  7:30 - 11 a.m.  1 - 3 p.m.      
               E, F    Nov. 14, Thur.  7:30 - 11 a.m.  1 - 2 p.m.      
               G, H    Oct. 16, Wed.   7:30 - 11 a.m.  1 - 3 p.m.
               I - K   Oct. 17, Thur.  7:30 - 11 a.m.  1 - 2 p.m.      
               L, M    Oct. 22, Tues.  7:30 - 11 a.m.  1 - 3 p.m.
               N - Q   Oct. 24, Thur.  7:30 - 11 a.m.  1 - 2 p.m.
               R, S    Oct. 29, Tues.  7:30 - 11 a.m.  1 - 3 p.m.
               T - V   Oct. 31, Thur.  7:30 - 11 a.m.  1 - 2 p.m.
               W - Z   Nov. 5, Thur.   7:30 - 11 a.m.  1 - 2 p.m.
                
               Walk-in (any last name)  Nov. 19, Tues. 7:30 - 11 a.m. 1 - 3 p.m.; 
               first come, first served on Nov. 21, Thur. 7:30 - 11 a.m.  1 - 2 p.m.; 
Oct. 21 thru Nov. 21, Mon. and Thur. evenings, 4:30 - 8 Bldg. 13, Rm. G-904 (all day clinics are 8 - 11 a.m. and 1 - 3 p.m.) A - D Oct. 25, Fri. E - H Nov. 1, Fri. I - M Nov. 8, Fri. N - S Nov. 15, Fri. T - Z Oct. 18, Fri. Off Campus Clinics EPN, Rm. 103 (all clinic times: 8:30 - 11:30 a.m. and 1 - 3 p.m.) A - L Nov. 13, Wed. M - Z Oct. 30, Wed. Federal Bldg., Rm. 1C05 (all clinic times: 1-3 p.m., Tues., Oct. 22 and Nov. 5) Poolesville Conf. Rm., Bldg. 102 Nov. 12, Tues. 8 - 11 a.m. Conf. Rm., Bldg. 110 Nov. 12, Tues. 12 - 2 p.m. Solar Bldg., Rm. 1A04 (all clinic times: 8:30 - 11:30 a.m. and 1 - 3 p.m.) A - L Oct. 23, Wed. M - Z Nov. 6, Wed. Rockledge, Rm. 5054 (all clinic times: 8:30 - 11:30 a.m. and 1 - 3 p.m.) Oct. 21, Mon. Oct. 28, Mon. Nov. 4, Mon.
Up to Top