Front Page

Previous Story

Next Story

NIH Record vertical blue bar column separator

Awardees graphic

Institute of Medicine Elects 4 NIH'ers

Sixty-five new members — including four NIH'ers — have been elected to the Institute of Medicine (IOM) of the National Academies, raising the total active membership to 1,358. Current active members elect new members from among candidates chosen for their major contributions to health and medicine or to related fields such as social and behavioral sciences, law, administration and economics. IOM's charter requires that at least one-fourth of the members be drawn from other than the health professions. Election to the IOM is both an honor and an obligation to work on behalf of the organization in its governance and studies.

Newly elected IOM members from NIH are Dr. Harvey J. Alter, chief, infectious disease section, and associate director for research, department of transfusion medicine, Clinical Center; Dr. Gerald T. Keusch, director, Fogarty International Center, and NIH associate director for international research; Dr. Allen M. Spiegel, director, National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases; and Dr. Lawrence A. Tabak, director, National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research.

Up to Top