Front Page

Previous Story

Next Story

NIH Record vertical blue bar column separator

Awardees graphic

Three NIH'ers Elected to IOM

Among the 60 new members recently elected to the National Academy of Sciences' Institute of Medicine are three NIH'ers. New members are elected for their major contributions to health, medicine and such related fields as social and behavioral sciences, law, administration and economics.

The new NIH inductees are Dr. Dennis S. Charney, chief, Mood and Anxiety Disorder Research Program, National Institute of Mental Health; NIMH director Dr. Steven E. Hyman; and Dr. David J. Lipman, director, National Center for Biotechnology Information, National Library of Medicine. DHHS Secretary Donna E. Shalala was also elected.

IOM members are expected to devote a significant amount of volunteer time on committees studying a broad range of health policy issues. Current IOM projects include studies on the creation of a medical system to support long-duration space travel beyond Earth's orbit, the development of new technologies for the early detection of breast cancer, and the safety and efficacy of the anthrax vaccine used by the U.S. military. With the 2000 inductees, IOM active membership now totals 613.

Pinn Wins Commonwealth Fund Honor

Dr. Vivian W. Pinn, director of the Office of Research on Women's Health, has been named winner of the Commonwealth Fund's annual Margaret E. Mahoney Award for Outstanding Service for her work in advancing the quality of health care for women everywhere. "Since her appointment in 1991, Dr. Pinn has led the Office of Research on Women's Health in achieving great strides towards improving the health of women," said Karen Davis, CF president. "Through initiatives such as ensuring women's inclusion in medical research and supporting the advancement of women in biomedical careers, Dr. Pinn has realized a mandate to broaden and strengthen research and eliminate gaps in knowledge resulting from women's exclusion from many medical research studies."

Up to Top