Front Page

Previous Story

Next Story

NIH Record Awardees

APA Honors Miriam Kelty

Dr. Miriam F. Kelty, NIA associate director for extramural affairs, recently received the Career Service to Health Psychology Award from the American Psychological Association's health psychology division. She was cited for her "contributions to the field of health psychology and behavioral medicine research and to the Division." She is only the second person to receive the career service award. Kelty initiated the APA task force on health research that helped establish the field of behavioral medicine and eventually led to the formation of the division of health psychology.

NIH'ers Win Presidential Rank Awards

A dozen NIH employees have won 1999 Presidential Rank Awards, which are presented annually to members of the Senior Executive Service whose achievements and/or service warrant special recognition. IC nominations are reviewed by the NIH executive resources board, the NIH director, the HHS secretary and the U.S. Office of Personnel Management, with final recommendations approved by the President.

Receiving the Distinguished Executive Rank Award was Dr. Albert Kapikian, NIAID.

Winning Meritorious Executive Rank Awards were:
Dr. Roscoe Brady, NINDS; Stephen Ficca, ORS; Dr. Enoch Gordis, NIAAA; Dr. Judith Greenberg, NIGMS; Dr. Yvonne Maddox, NICHD; Dr. John McLaughlin, NEI; Dr. Stephen Mockrin, NHLBI; Dr. Gregory Morosco, NHLBI; Dr. W. Sue Shafer, NIGMS; Dr. Lana Skirboll, OD; Paul Van Nevel, NCI.

Up to Top