Front Page

Previous Story

Next Story

NIH Record Awardees

Eleven Named AAAS Fellows

Eleven NIH'ers are among the 283 scientists recently elected by their peers to the rank of fellow in the American Association for the Advancement of Science. They will receive a certificate and rosette pin at the AAAS annual meeting in Anaheim, Jan. 23, 1999.

The new AAAS fellows from NIH are: Drs. George W.A. Milne, Ira Pastan and Stephen J. O'Brien of NCI; Dr. Bernard Moss, NIAID; Dr. Anil B. Mukherjee, NICHD; Drs. Martin F. Gellert and David R. Davies, NIDDK; Dr. Story C. Landis, NINDS; Dr. Enoch Gordis, NIAAA; Dr. Lawrence E. Shulman, NIH/OD; and Dr. Alexa T. McCray, NLM.

The AAAS, founded in 1848, is the world's largest federation of scientific and engineering societies, with over 282 affiliated societies and 144,000 members. The "fellows" distinction began 124 years ago in 1874, and recognizes "efforts toward advancing science or fostering applications that are deemed scientifically or socially distinguished."

Up to Top