Front Page

Previous Story

Next Story

NIH Record

White House Honors 11 Young Scientists

Eleven NIH-supported scientists, including an intramural researcher, are among 60 winners of the Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers -- the highest honor bestowed by the United States government on outstanding scientists and engineers at the outset of their independent research careers. The awardees were recognized Nov. 3 at a reception and colloquium at the Old Executive Office Bldg.

The nominees were chosen from among the most meritorious investigators funded through the First Independent Research Support & Transition (FIRST) award. The honorees receive up to $500,000 over a 5-year period to further their research. They include: Dr. Russ B. Altman, Stanford (NLM); Dr. Anirvan Ghosh, Johns Hopkins (NINDS); Dr. Juan C. Izpisua-Belmonte, Salk Institute (NICHD); Dr. Macrae F. Linton, Vanderbilt (NHLBI); Dr. Peter Mombaerts, Rockefeller University (NIDCD); Dr. Michael K. Rosen, Sloan Kettering Institute for Cancer Research (NIGMS); Dr. Patrick J. Stover, Cornell (NICHD); Dr. Michele S. Swanson, University of Michigan (NIAID); Dr. Roland M. Tisch, University of North Carolina (NIDDK); Dr. Sharon L. Walsh, Johns Hopkins (NIDA); Dr. David A. Wassarman, NICHD's unit on developmental transcription regulation.

Up to Top