Front Page

Previous Story

Next Story

NIH Record


Drs. Richard Youle and Jonathan Hott

Dr. Richard Youle (left), chief of the biochemistry section, Surgical Neurology Branch, NINDS, and Jonathan Hott (right), a Howard Hughes Medical Institute research scholar in Youle's lab, won cash awards in the 1996 BFGoodrich Collegiate Inventors Program for Hott's entry, "A Skeletal Muscle Specific Immunotoxin for the Treatment of Focal Muscle Spasm." Youle acted as scientific advisor for the invention, an immunotoxin that may be used to selectively inactivate muscles in focal dystonia and other muscle spasm disorders. Youle and Hott received their awards recently at BFGoodrich headquarters in Akron, Ohio.

Dr. Patricia A. Grady

Dr. Patricia A. Grady, director of the National Institute of Nursing Research, has been inducted as a fellow of the American Academy of Nursing. The academy is a national organization of nursing leaders committed to advancing scientific knowledge through research, and influencing the development of effective health care policies and practice. Grady was selected for her outstanding contributions to nursing through research, publications, professional activities and community service. She has served in many academic, research, and management positions including several at NIH since 1988. Her scientific focus has primarily been in the area of cerebral ischemia and stroke.

Dr. Robert N. Hoover

Dr. Robert N. Hoover, director of the Epidemiology and Biostatistics Program, Division of Cancer Epidemiology and Genetics, NCI, received the 1996 Gorgas Medal for his outstanding research accomplishments in developing and directing a widely acclaimed program of epidemiologic investigation. The award is presented by the Association of Military Surgeons of the United States in recognition of distinguished work in preventive medicine. Hoover is a captain in the PHS Commissioned Corps. He received a scroll, medal and award at the association's annual meeting held in San Antonio Nov. 13.

Dr. Susana Serrate-Sztein

Dr. Susana Serrate-Sztein, chief, Rheumatic Diseases Branch, NIAMS, is the recipient of an Outstanding Public Service Award from the Lupus Foundation of America "in recognition of outstanding public service in promoting and enhancing lupus research." An expert in the area of immunology, she directs the institute's extramural research programs in arthritis and related diseases such as systemic lupus erythematosus. The award was presented at the annual meeting of the Lupus Foundation of America recently held in Boston.

Dr. Terrie Wetle

In recognition of her outstanding contributions to the field of aging and public health, Dr. Terrie Wetle, deputy director of the National Institute on Aging, will be awarded the American Public Health Association's 13th annual Key Award during APHA's annual meeting in New York City this month. She will give the Key Award address titled, "The Scarce Resources Vise: Allocation and Older People."

Four NIH'ers Named to Institute of Medicine

Among the 55 new members recently elected to the National Academy of Sciences' Institute of Medicine are four NIH scientists. New members are elected by current active members for their major contributions to health, medicine, and such related fields as social and behavioral sciences, law, administration and economics.

The new NIH inductees are: Dr. Mitchell Gail, head, epidemiologic methods section and chief, Biostatistics Branch, Division of Cancer Epidemiology and Genetics, NCI; Dr. John Gallin, Clinical Center director and chief of NIAID's Laboratory of Host Defenses; Dr. Richard Klausner, NCI director; and Dr. Judith Vaitukaitis, NCRR director.

IOM members are expected to devote a significant amount of volunteer time on committees studying a range of health policy issues. Current IOM projects include studies on care at the end of life; on genetics, health and behavior; and on new vaccine development.

Institute of Medicine Honors Ex-NIA Directors

Two former directors of the National Institute on Aging were recently honored by the Institute of Medicine of the National Academy of Sciences.

In a recent ceremony, Dr. Robert N. Butler, now director of the International Longevity Center at Mt. Sinai Medical Center in New York City, and Dr. T. Franklin Williams, professor of medicine emeritus at the University of Rochester School of Medicine and Dentistry and a Veterans Administration distinguished physician, received IOM's Gustav O. Lienhard Award for outstanding achievement in health care and medicine. They were cited for raising public awareness of geriatrics, the medical field concerned with diseases and problems of old age, and of gerontology, the scientific study of aging. Their work, the IOM said, has enhanced the quality of personal health care services for older people.

Up to Top