Front Page

Previous Story

Next Story

NIH Record vertical blue bar column separator
Awardees graphic

Five NIH'ers Among AAAS 2003 Fellows

Five NIH'ers have been elected fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science for 2003, an honor bestowed upon members by their peers. Awarded to 348 members this year, the rank recognizes efforts to advance science or applications that are deemed scientifically or socially distinguished.

New fellows will receive a certificate and a gold and blue (representing science and engineering, respectively) rosette pin on Feb. 14 at the fellows forum during the 2004 AAAS annual meeting in Seattle. The recent NIH electees and their citations are:

Dr. Stephen L. Foote, NIMH, "For distinguished research on the role of the locus coeruleus in several species, as well as for distinguished leadership in the National Institute of Mental Health."

Dr. Curtis C. Harris, NCI, "For pioneering studies of human carcinogenesis, identification of interindividual variation in carcinogen metabolism, and carcinogen-induced DNA damage resulting in the scientific foundation of molecular epidemiology."

Dr. Steven M. Holland, NIAID, "For distinguished contributions to the study of genetic defects in phagocytes, particularly for discovery of mutations in interferon gamma receptors that predispose to mycobacterial infections."

Dr. Marian C. Johnson-Thompson, NIEHS, "For distinguished contributions to the training needs of underserved populations, as well as for identifying and helping alleviate minority groups' needs in community public health, and for being a mentor to countless members of minority groups."

Dr. Reed B. Wickner, NIDDK, "For innovative contributions to molecular biology, particularly for insights leading to the recognition and study of prion formation in lower eukaryotes."

Founded in 1848, AAAS is the world's largest general federation of scientists and has worked to advance science for human well-being through its projects, programs and publications in the areas of science policy, science education and international scientific cooperation. The tradition of AAAS fellows began in 1874.

Up to Top