Front Page

Previous Story

Next Story

NIH Record vertical blue bar column separator

Awardees graphic

Five NIH'ers Elected AAAS Fellows

The American Association for the Advancement of Science recently elected 288 members as fellows of AAAS; five of the scientists hail from NIH. The individuals will be recognized for their contributions to science at a fellows forum to be held Feb. 16, 2002, during the AAAS annual meeting in Boston. The new fellows will receive a certificate and a blue and gold rosette pin as a symbol of their distinguished accomplishments.

Honored from NIH were: Dr. Hynda K. Kleinman, chief, cell biology section, Craniofacial Developmental Biology and Regeneration Branch, NIDCR; Dr. Sue Wickner, chief, DNA molecular biology section, Laboratory of Molecular Biology, NCI; Dr. Josephine Briggs, director of NIDDK's Division of Kidney, Urologic and Hematologic Diseases; Dr. Dan L. Longo, scientific director, NIA; and Dr. Anne Sassaman, director, Division of Extramural Research and Training, NIEHS.

AAMC Honors Two from NIH

NIH acting director Dr. Ruth Kirschstein and NIH associate director for research on women's health Dr. Vivian Pinn were honored at the Association of American Medical Colleges' "Women in Medicine 25th Anniversary Awards" ceremony on Nov. 4. Pinn is director of the NIH Office of Research on Women's Health; she took charge of that office in 1991 and has remained here since.

Pinn is the only director the NIH Office of Research on Women's Health has ever known; she took charge in 1991 and has remained here since. Kirschstein is wrapping up her second year as acting NIH director, and was deputy director for 6 years prior to that.

Both women were celebrated in a poem commemorating women in science that appeared in the award brochure's final pages. Written by Janet Bickel and opening, "Let us now praise fabulous foremothers," the poem includes the lines, "We look to Blackwell and Rebecca Lee/Cady Stanton, Susan B., Mary Putnam Jacobi/And glorious in diversity –/Steinem, Friedan, Angelou/Jocelyn Elders, Vivian Pinn/Kirschstein, Healy, Conley/These torchbearers got burned, some third degree..." The poem, written for a symposium at Stanford University in March 2000, appeared in the Journal of Women's Health & Gender-Based Medicine.

Maddox Wins Presidential Rank Award

NIH acting deputy director Dr. Yvonne T. Maddox was among 65 federal employees and one of only three in HHS to receive the 2001 Presidential Rank Award for Distinguished Executives at a recent ceremony at Constitution Hall. Winners are nominated by their agency heads, evaluated by boards of private citizens and approved by the President. The evaluation criteria focus on producing results. Maddox, who also serves as NICHD deputy director, was cited for providing "leadership to a large and diverse program that supports research on maternal and child health, the population sciences, and medical rehabilitation. Through her vision and effective management of resources, major advances in the health of mothers and children have been realized." There are two categories of awards: distinguished executives and meritorious executives. Distinguished executives receive a lump-sum payment of 35 percent of their base pay, a gold pin and a framed certificate signed by the President. Only 1 percent of career Senior Executive Service members may receive the award. The Meritorious Executive Award is given for long-term accomplishments. Maddox received the meritorious executive honor in 1999.

Up to Top