Front Page

Previous Story

Next Story

NIH Record vertical blue bar column separator

Awardees graphic

Moss Receives Bristol-Myers Squibb Award

NIAID's Dr. Bernard Moss recently received the Bristol-Myers Squibb Award for Distinguished Achievement in Infectious Disease Research. Chief of the Laboratory of Viral Diseases in the Division of Intramural Research, he was recognized for his important contributions toward understanding virus-host interactions. The selection committee cited his discovery of the first of many virally secreted immune defense molecules, a class of molecules for which he coined the term virokine; his characterization of the first virus-encoded growth factor; and his development of the vaccinia virus into a versatile and widely used expression vector system. He was also cited for determining the structure of the cap found at the 5'-terminus of all eukaryotic and most viral mRNAs. Moss was selected for the annual award, instituted in 1991, by an independent committee of leading researchers. His numerous other awards and honors include the Taylor International Prize for Medicine, the ICN International Prize for Virology, the Dickson Prize for Medical Research and election to the American College of Microbiology and the National Academy of Sciences; he is a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science and past president of the American Society of Virology.

Mackall Honored as Clinical Teacher

Dr. Crystal Mackall (c), a principal investigator with NCI's Pediatric Oncology Branch, has received the Clinical Teacher Award for excellence in clinical training of NIH fellows. It was presented by NEI's Dr. Grace Clark (l) and Clinical Center director Dr. John Gallin at a recent Grand Rounds. The award has been presented annually since 1985; it recognizes excellence in clinical training involving the direct care of patients by any senior clinical investigator at NIH. Clinical associates nominate individuals who, in their judgment, have contributed significantly to the professional development of clinical trainees. A panel of NIH fellows makes the final selection.

Up to Top