Front Page

Previous Story

Next Story

NIH Record vertical blue bar column separator
Awardees graphic

Sue Wickner Elected to NAS

Dr. Sue Hengren Wickner, chief of the DNA molecular biology section in the Laboratory of Molecular Biology, National Cancer Institute, has been elected to membership in the National Academy of Sciences. She is one of 72 new members named Apr. 20 during the business session of the 141st annual meeting of the academy. NAS membership is considered one of the highest honors that can be accorded a United States scientist or engineer. Those elected recently bring the total number of active members to 1,949.

The NAS is a private organization of scientists and engineers dedicated to the furtherance of science and its use for the general welfare. It was established in 1863 by a congressional act of incorporation, signed by Abraham Lincoln, which calls on the academy to act as an official adviser to the federal government, upon request, in any matter of science or technology.

Rodgers Elected to AAP

Dr. Griffin P. Rodgers has been elected to the Association of American Physicians (AAP). Rodgers is deputy director of the National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases, and chief of NIDDK's Clinical and Molecular Hematology Branch, which he has headed since 1998. An internationally known hematologist, Rodgers pioneered the use of hydroxyurea to reactivate the silent fetal hemoglobin gene to alleviate major complications of sickle cell anemia. He continues to study fetal hemoglobin as a therapy for other diseases of human hemoglobin. His research has directly affected the health of millions of people worldwide. He was presented as a new member at the AAP annual meeting in April.

Up to Top