Front Page

Previous Story

Next Story

NIH Record vertical blue bar column separator
Awardees graphic

Hinton, Stine Win Mentoring Awards

The Association for Women in Science (AWIS) Bethesda chapter presented its annual Awards for Excellence in Mentoring to Dr. Deborah M. Hinton and to Dr. Deborah D. Stine at its recent meeting at the Cloisters chapel at NIH. The awards are in recognition and appreciation of outstanding mentoring of young scientists.

Hinton is a research chemist in the Laboratory of Molecular and Cellular Biology, NIDDK. She has trained a number of visiting fellows, IRTA fellows and pre-IRTA fellows in her laboratory. Several of her trainees have gone on to medical school. Her students credit her for their professional and emotional growth and their training in use of the scientific method. Her group holds weekly meetings in which students present their work as well as more frequent discussion and training meetings. She encourages her fellows to draft their own papers and works with them closely on their writing, presentation and communication skills.

Deborah Hinton (r) receives her certificate from Christine Goertz, president of the Bethesda chapter of AWIS, in the Cloisters chapel.

Stine is associate director of the committee on science, engineering and public policy at the National Academies in Washington, D.C. She was instrumental in starting the Christine Mirzayan Science and Technology Policy Internship Program at the National Academies in 1997, which gives graduate students and recent Ph.D.s and postdocs in the sciences and related fields the opportunity to spend 3-4 months working at the National Academies in science and public policy.

The Bethesda chapter of AWIS is supported in part by the Office of Research on Women's Health and the Office of Community Liaison.

Dean Honored by Washington Academy of Sciences

Dr. Donna J. Dean recently received the Award for Scientific Achievement in Health Sciences from the Washington Academy of Sciences "in recognition of visionary leadership and pivotal roles in fostering new arenas of research endeavor at the National Institutes of Health." Dean was cited for her professional contributions as researcher, regulatory scientist, administrator and manager of NIH's peer review process and founding/acting director of the National Institute of Biomedical Imaging and Bioengineering. Her activities on behalf of workforce issues, women's health research and professional societies were also highlighted. A chemist/biochemist by training, Dean is currently senior advisor for engineering in the NIH Office of the Director and senior scholar in residence at the National Academy of Engineering of the National Academies.

Blackburn Wins Heineken Prize

The Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences has awarded Dr. Elizabeth Blackburn the Dr. A.H. Heineken Prize for Medicine 2004 for identifying the structure of chromosome ends (telomeres) and discovering the enzyme telomerase. Although telomerase has been found to be crucial to normal cell growth, it also plays a role in uncontrolled cell growth. Her discovery of telomerase is considered to be one of the most important achievements in molecular genetics. A professor in the department of biochemistry and biophysics, University of California, San Francisco, Blackburn is a member of the NIA's National Advisory Council on Aging and is a long-time grantee of NIH.

Up to Top