Front Page

Previous Story

Next Story

NIH Record vertical blue bar column separator
Awardees graphic

Pinn Receives Lifetime Achievement Award

Dr. Vivian Pinn, NIH associate director for research on women's health, received the Warren H. Pearse Lifetime Achievement Award at the 15th Anniversary Excellence in Women's Health Awards luncheon held May 13 at the Kennedy Center by the Jacobs Institute of Women's Health. The award was presented by Dr. Timothy R.B. Johnson, professor and chair, department of obstetrics and gynecology at the University of Michigan Medical Center and a member of JIWH's board of governors; he also serves on the advisory committee of the NIH Office of Research on Women's Health, which Pinn directs. JIWH is one of the nation's leading think tanks on women's health care policy.

Robertson Wins UNC Alumni Award

Davenport "Dav" Robertson, NIEHS library director, was honored May 9 at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill's School of Information and Library Science commencement. Robertson was selected by the alumni association of the School of Library Science for the Distinguished Alumni Award based on his outstanding contributions to the field during his career.

Zhao Claims Second Straight Pfizer Award

Dr. Xiujun Zhao (c), a visiting scientist with NEI's aging and ocular disease section, received the Pfizer Glaucoma Fellow Award for the second year in a row. He is shown here with Pfizer representatives Deborah Lasky (l) and Cecilia Price. The award was presented to Zhao for his paper at the recent Association for Research in Vision and Ophthalmology meeting in Ft. Lauderdale. His talk was titled "Proteomic and Gene Microarray Analyses of the Effects of TGF-beta on Human Trabecular Meshwork Cells." Zhao's work involves determining the long-term effects of cytokines on ocular cells as a consequence of glaucoma. He investigated the effects of cytokines that are elevated in the aqueous humor of individuals with primary open-angle glaucoma. He looked at not only the changes in gene expression, but also the actual protein alterations in the cells that are thought to regulate intraocular pressure. The Glaucoma Fellow Awards Program, funded by Pfizer Ophthalmics, Inc., recognizes six researchers each year. NEI will receive $5,000 in support of Zhao's ongoing research.

'Share the Health' Organizers Honored

NIH director Dr. Elias Zerhouni (second from l) congratulated organizers of the annual "Share the Health" event at an award ceremony May 24. The NIH Office of Community Liaison sponsors the health and fitness expo, which this year attracted more than 5,000 visitors to Montgomery Blair High School. Guests enjoyed a day of health seminars, wellness workshops, fitness activities and exhibit booths. "This was absolutely the largest attended and most successful expo in the event's 5-year history," said OCL director Dr. Tom Gallagher (l). Also on hand were (from l) award recipient Randy Schools, president and CEO of R&W, and OCL's Walter Mitton, chair of the expo planning committee. Said Mitton, "Don't be surprised when you hear about this event attracting crowds in excess of 20,000 people at Share the Health 2005!"

Up to Top