Front Page

Previous Story

Next Story

NIH Record vertical blue bar column separator

New Appointments graphic

New Members Join NIGMS Council

Five new members and one ex officio member were recently appointed to the National Advisory General Medical Sciences Council. They are:

  • Dr. Francine Berman, director of the San Diego Supercomputer Center at the University of California, San Diego, where she also serves as professor of computer science and engineering and endowed chair in the Jacobs School of Engineering.
  • Dr. Kathleen M. Giacomini, chair of the department of bio-pharmaceutical sciences and professor of bio-pharmaceutical sciences, pharmaceutical chemistry, and cellular and molecular pharmacology at the University of California, San Francisco School of Pharmacy.
NIGMS director Dr. Jeremy Berg (front, third from l) with council members (front, from l) Dr. Lisa Staiano-Coico, Dr. Francine Berman, Dr. Kathleen M. Giacomini, (back, from l) Dr. Jeffrey T. Mason, Dr. Brian W. Matthews, Dr. Eric N. Jacobsen, and Dr. John C. Goodman.
  • Dr. John C. Goodman, founder and president of the National Center for Policy Analysis, a nonprofit, nonpartisan public policy research organization in Dallas.
  • Dr. Brian W. Matthews, professor of physics, Howard Hughes Medical Institute investigator and member of the Institute of Molecular Biology, University of Oregon.
  • Dr. Lisa Staiano-Coico, dean of the college of human ecology at Cornell University, where she also serves as professor of nutritional sciences. In addition, she is professor of microbiology in surgery, microbiology in dermatology, and public health at the Weill Medical College of Cornell University in New York City.
  • Dr. Jeffrey T. Mason, chair of the department of biophysics at the Armed Forces Institute of Pathology in Rockville, where he also serves as administrative director of the magnetic resonance microscopy facility. He was named the council's ex officio representative from the Department of Defense.
Last year, Secretary Thompson appointed Dr. Eric N. Jacobsen to the council. He is the Sheldon Emery professor of chemistry at Harvard University.
Up to Top