skip navigation
Vol. LVIII, No. 13
June 30, 2006

previous story

next story
Two NIH'ers Named to Academy

Two NIH scientists are among the 72 new members named recently to the National Academy of Sciences in recognition of their distinguished and continuing achievements in original research.

Dr. William A. Eaton is chief of the Laboratory of Chemical Physics, NIDDK. The second honoree, Dr. Carl Wu, is chief of the Laboratory of Molecular Cell Biology, NCI.

The election was held during the 143rd annual meeting of the academy. "Election to the academy is considered one of the highest honors in American science and engineering," said Ralph Cicerone, who became president of NAS in 2005. Those elected in April bring the total number of active members to 2,013; there are an additional 371 foreign associates.

The NAS is a private organization of scientists and engineers dedicated to the furtherance of science and its use for the general welfare. It was established in 1863 by a congressional act of incorporation signed by Abraham Lincoln that calls on the academy to act as an official adviser to the federal government, upon request, in any matter of science or technology.

NIH Receives Recycling Award

NIH's Division of Environmental Protection was recognized May 24 for "Excellence in Recycling" from Montgomery County's department of public works and transportation, division of solid waste services, recycling section. The award, known as the SORTT — Smart Organizations Reduce and Recycle Tons — recognizes the large volume recycled here, as well as the provision of convenient and accessible collection containers throughout the buildings and grounds. NIH was among 13 honorees in the "Outstanding Achievement, Business" category.

During the last fiscal year, NIH recycled 3,000 tons of material. Accepting the award were Don Wilson, chief of DEP's Waste and Resource Recovery Branch, and Janie Lee.

NIH Sailing Association Open House

The NIH Sailing Association invites everyone to its open house on Saturday, July 30 from 10 a.m. to 3 p.m. at Selby Bay Sailing Center in Mayo, Md. Explore your interest in learning to sail and discover opportunities for sailing with NIHSA. There will be demonstration sails for adults in the club's 19-ft. Flying Scot sailboats. Fall sailing classes begin Aug. 22; this is a good chance to preview the boats and meet the members. At the open house you can join the club and sign up for the 6-week adult sailing class. Directions to the event are on the club's web site: Come check it out — sailing, food, drinks and beer for $5 per person.

Presidential Succession at NIHAA

Shown at the May 25 NIH Alumni Association board of directors meeting is outgoing president Paul Van Nevel (l), who is receiving a plaque for his service from incoming president Charles "Chick" Leasure. Leasure, formerly NIH deputy director for management, retired in February 2004 after 38 years in a variety of executive positions throughout NIH. Other officers elected are Levon Parker, vice president, and Marc Stern, secretary. Newly elected board members are James S. Alexander, Calvin B. Baldwin Jr., Dr. Dennis Cain, Dr. Donna J. Dean, Dr. George Galasso, Janyce Hedetniemi, Dr. Gerald S. Johnston, Dr. Kira K. Lueders, Dr. Ramesh K. Nayak, Dr. Theodore J. Roumel and Dr. John F. Sherman. Activities planned for the fall include the group's annual meeting and sponsorship of the James A. Shannon Lecture. The NIHAA is now in its 18th year and membership is open to past as well as present NIH staff. For more information about the organization, call (301) 530-0567 or visit

back to top of page