skip navigation nih record
Vol. LX, No. 22
October 31, 2008

previous story

next story


Shown at Harvard University
Shown at Harvard University during his 2007 sabbatical, Dr. Ken Olden remained active in public health venues even after he returned to the bench in 2005. (Photo courtesy of Harvard University)

Olden To Found New School of Public Health

NIEHS director emeritus and principal investigator Dr. Ken Olden has left NIH to set up the new School of Public Health on the Hunter College campus of the City University of New York (CUNY). It will be the first such program designed with an urban focus and it offers Olden the natural next step in his career in the environmental health sciences.

During his tenure as NIEHS director from 1991 to 2005, he placed a strong emphasis on public health, community-based participatory research, children’s health and environmental justice programs.

Accepting his appointment, Olden described his vision for the program. “The goal of CUNY’s School of Public Health is to train interdisciplinary urban public health researchers and practitioners capable of working across all levels of analysis, disciplines and social sectors—such as health, education, the environment and criminal justice—to address complex urban public health problems.”

After his retirement as director, Olden continued to pursue his interests in public health while also serving as a PI in NIEHS’s Laboratory of Molecular Carcinogenesis metastasis group.

Three NIH’ers Earn Presidential Rank Awards

Colleen Barros Don Christoferson Maureen Gormley
NIH Presidential Rank Awardees are (from l) Colleen Barros, Don Christoferson and Maureen Gormley

NIH Deputy Director for Management Colleen Barros has received the Distinguished Executive Award, and NHLBI Associate Director for Administrative Management Don Christoferson and Clinical Center Chief Operating Officer Maureen Gormley both received the Meritorious Executive Award. They are among more than 350 career federal executives recognized Sept. 30 by President Bush for their outstanding leadership and longtime service to government.

“Winners of the prestigious Presidential Rank Award represent the cream of the crop within the federal executive ranks,” said Michael Hager, acting director of the Office of Personnel Management. “Their professional dedication and commitment to excellence is helping to advance President Bush’s agenda for enhancing federal government performance and creating a more effective civil service.”

Dr. Ronald N. Germain

NIAID’s Germain Named EMBO Associate Member

Dr. Ronald N. Germain, deputy chief of NIAID’s Laboratory of Immunology, was recently named an associate member of the European Molecular Biology Organization (EMBO). The honor recognizes proven excellence in research. Membership is a life-long honor, with new members nominated and elected annually by existing members. EMBO members hail from all fields of molecular life sciences ranging from developmental biology, genomics, molecular medicine, neuroscience and plant biology to systems biology. Forty-eight scientists from the EMBO membership have received the Nobel Prize and many others are recipients of prestigious international awards. The new members will be welcomed at the EMBO meeting held in Amsterdam next summer.

NINR Welcomes New Council Members

NINR director Dr. Patricia Grady (third from l) welcomes new council members (from l) Dr. Diana Lake, Dr. Stanley Finkelstein, Dr. Marla Salmon, Dr. Marion Broome and Capt. Maggie Richard.
NINR director Dr. Patricia Grady (third from l) welcomes new council members (from l) Dr. Diana Lake, Dr. Stanley Finkelstein, Dr. Marla Salmon, Dr. Marion Broome and Capt. Maggie Richard.

Five new members recently joined the National Advisory Council for Nursing Research. They are:

Dr. Marion E. Broome, dean of Indiana University School of Nursing, as well as a distinguished professor in the school’s department of family health nursing. She is a widely published expert in pediatric nursing research and practice.

Dr. Stanley Finkelstein, professor of laboratory medicine and pathology in the Medical School at the University of Minnesota. He is also director of the Schmitt Center for Home Telehealth, a fellow of the American Institute of Medical and Biological Engineering and a member of the editorial board of the journal IEEE Transactions on Information Technology in Biomedicine.

Dr. Diana E. Lake, a medical oncologist at Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center in New York City. Her practice is devoted to the care of breast cancer patients and she is involved in clinical trials to develop better hormonal therapies and improved approaches to cancer treatment before surgery.

Capt. Maggie L. Richard, director of the human research protection program in the Bureau of Medicine and Surgery, Department of the Navy. She has served over 20 years in the Navy Nurse Corps and is former head of the nursing research service at Bethesda National Naval Medical Center.

Dr. Marla E. Salmon, dean of the University of Washington School of Nursing. She is a member of the Institute of Medicine and the nursing commission for the Joint Commission on Healthcare Accreditation.

back to top of page