skip navigation nih record
Vol. LX, No. 22
October 31, 2008

previous story

next story

Four From NIH Named to IOM

Dr. John Niederhuber Dr. Elaine Jaffe
Dr. W. Marston Linehan Dr. Husseini K. Manji
Clockwise, from top l: New IOM members are Dr. John Niederhuber, Dr. Elaine Jaffe, Dr. W. Marston Linehan and Dr. Husseini K. Manji.

Three scientists from the National Cancer Institute and one recently departed researcher from the National Institute of Mental Health were among 65 new members and five foreign associates elected to the Institute of Medicine of the National Academies at its annual meeting on Oct. 13.

The new members are Dr. John Niederhuber, NCI director; Dr. Elaine Jaffe, chief, hematopathology section, and acting chief, Laboratory of Pathology, Center for Cancer Research, NCI; Dr. W. Marston Linehan, chief, Urologic Oncology Branch, NCI; and Dr. Husseini K. Manji, who until recently was director of NIMH’s mood and anxiety disorders research program. He is now at Johnson & Johnson Pharmaceutical Research and Development, but continues to be a special volunteer for NIMH.

The new members also include three prominent alumni of NIH: Dr. Maria Freire, who used to lead the Office of Technology Transfer and is now president of the Albert and Mary Lasker Foundation; Dr. Naomi Lynn Gerber, the longtime chief of the Clinical Center’s rehabilitation medicine department, who is now at George Mason University; and Dr. Barbara Rimer, formerly a top NCI official, now at the University of North Carolina.

Membership in IOM is considered one of the highest honors in the fields of health and medicine and recognizes individuals who have demonstrated outstanding professional achievement and commitment to service. Current active members elect new members from among candidates nominated for their accomplishments and contributions to the advancement of the medical sciences, health care and public health.  

The Institute of Medicine is unique for its structure as both an honorific membership organization and an advisory organization on matters of health and science policy. Established in 1970 as a component of the National Academy of Sciences, IOM has become recognized as a national resource for independent, scientifically informed analysis and recommendations on health issues. NIHRecord Icon

back to top of page