skip navigation nih record
Vol. LXIII, No. 1
January 7, 2011

previous story

next story

20 PECASE Honorees Have NIH Ties
Dr. Brian Brooks

Dr. Brian Brooks

Dr. Charles Venditti
Dr. Charles Venditti

Eighteen NIH grantees and two intramural scientists have been selected by the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy to be among 85 researchers to receive the 2009 Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE), the nation’s highest honor for scientists at the beginning of their professional careers.

Since the program began in 1996, NIH has funded a total of 173 PECASE recipients. Awardees were honored by President Barack Obama at a recent White House ceremony.

“I am pleased to announce 20 new PECASE winners associated with the National Institutes of Health,” said NIH director Dr. Francis Collins. “Although early in their scientific careers, these young researchers have already shown exceptional potential for productivity and innovation.”

The intramural honorees are Dr. Brian Brooks, chief of the unit on pediatric, developmental and genetic ophthalmology at the National Eye Institute (he is also chief of the ophthalmic genetics clinic at Children’s National Medical Center), and Dr. Charles Venditti, an investigator in the Genetics and Molecular Biology Branch, National Human Genome Research Institute.

Brooks’ focus is on the molecular genetics and developmental studies of uveal coloboma, a congenital ocular disease that accounts for about 10 percent of childhood blindness. Venditti studies methylmalonic acidemia and other inherited errors of organic acid metabolism that can lead to lethal disorders in infants.

The grantee winners include: Dr. Dominique C. Bergmann, Stanford University (NIGMS); Dr. Edward A. Botchwey, University of Virginia (NIAMS); Dr. Mauricio R. Delgado, Rutgers University (NIDA); Dr. Amy Nadya Finkelstein, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (NIA); Dr. Alfredo Fontanini, State University of New York, Stony Brook (NIDCD); Dr. Manolis Kellis, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (NHGRI); Dr. Jessica Y. Lee, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (NIDCR); Dr. Bradley A. Malin, Vanderbilt University Medical Center (NLM); Dr. Ana P. Martinez-Donate, University of Wisconsin (NICHD); Dr. Kimberly Nixon, University of Kentucky (NIAAA); Dr. Caryn E. Outten, University of South Carolina (NIGMS); Dr. Muneesh Tewari, Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center (NIDDK); Dr. Doris Ying Tsao, California Institute of Technology (NEI); Dr. Amy Wagers, Harvard University (NIA); Dr. Ziv Williams, Massachusetts General Hospital (NICHD); Dr. Joseph Wu, Stanford University School of Medicine (NHLBI); Dr. Haoxing Xu, University of Michigan (NINDS); and Dr. Martin T. Zanni, University of Wisconsin (NIDDK). NIHRecord Icon

back to top of page