skip navigation nih record
Vol. LXIII, No. 5
March 4, 2011

previous story

next story

NIH’ers Named AAAS Fellows
Dr. Jacqueline N. Crawley Dr. Bruce A. Fuchs, Dr. Malcolm A. Martin Dr. James Mason
Dr. Mark Mattson Dr. Thomas B. Nutman Dr. Alan Sher Dr. Roy S. Wu

The eight NIH’ers who were recently elected AAAS fellows are (top, from l) Dr. Jacqueline N. Crawley, Dr. Bruce A. Fuchs, Dr. Malcolm A. Martin, Dr. James Mason, (bottom, from l) Dr. Mark Mattson, Dr. Thomas B. Nutman, Dr. Alan Sher and Dr. Roy S. Wu.

The American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) council recently elected 503 members, including eight NIH’ers, as 2010 fellows of the association. Honorees were recognized for their contributions to science and technology at the fellows forum on Feb. 19 during the AAAS annual meeting in Washington, D.C. New fellows receive a certificate and a blue and gold rosette as a symbol of their distinguished accomplishments.

From the section on biological sciences:

Dr. James Mason, Laboratory of Molecular Genetics, NIEHS: “For distinguished contributions to the field of chromosome structure, particularly showing that there are alternatives to telomerase in maintaining telomeres, especially the use of retrotransposons.”

From the section on education:

Dr. Bruce A. Fuchs, director, NIH Office of Science Education: “For distinguished service and leadership in improving STEM education as the director of the Office of Science Education, National Institutes of Health.”

From the section on medical sciences:

Dr. Malcolm A. Martin, chief, Laboratory of Molecular Microbiology, NIAID: “For distinguished contributions in the investigations of HIV-1 pathogenesis using nonhuman primates with the goal of developing vaccines.”

Dr. Thomas B. Nutman, head, Helminth immunology section, and head, clinical parasitology unit, Laboratory of Parasitic Diseases, NIAID: “For distinguished contributions to the understanding of human immune responses to parasites and of the factors inducing pathogenesis and disease.”

Dr. Alan Sher, chief, Laboratory of Parasitic Diseases, NIAID: “For distinguished contributions to research on infectious diseases, notably understanding pathogenesis and immunoregulation of parasitic and mycobacterial infections, the role of T cell cytokines in immunoregulation and the role of dendritic cells in host resistance.”

From the section on neuroscience:

Dr. Jacqueline N. Crawley, chief, Laboratory of Behavioral Neuroscience, NIMH: “For generating new rodent behavioral tasks and applying emerging technologies to investigate genes regulating complex behavioral traits.”  

Dr. Mark Mattson, chief, Laboratory of Neurosciences, NIA: “For elucidating cellular signaling mechanisms involved in neural plasticity and the pathogenesis of neurodegenerative disorders.”

From the section on pharmaceutical sciences:

Dr. Roy S. Wu, chief of the Clinical Grants and Contracts Branch, Cancer Therapy Evaluation Program, NCI: “For outstanding contributions to the advancement of translational research and mentoring of grantees and young scientists.”

Founded in 1848, AAAS is associated with about 262 affiliated societies and academies of science, serving 10 million individuals. An international non-profit organization dedicated to advancing science around the world by serving as an educator, leader, spokesperson and professional association, AAAS also publishes the journal Science, which has the largest paid circulation of any peer-reviewed general science journal in the world, with an estimated total readership of one million. NIHRecord Icon

back to top of page