skip navigation nih record
Vol. LXIII, No. 24
November 25, 2011

previous story

next story

Executive Leadership Program Graduates Second Cohort
Dr. Forbes D. Porter
At ExLP’s recent graduation ceremony are (from l) Dr. Alan Willard (NINDS), NIH principal deputy director Dr. Lawrence Tabak (OD), Dr. Bruce Androphy (NIEHS), Dr. Susana Serrate-Sztein (NIAMS), Stacy Charland (OD), Dr. Sheryl Brining (NCRR), Tim Wheeles (NHLBI), Dr. Chyren Hunter (NIA), Dr. Debbie Winn (NCI), Jenny Czajkowski (CIT), Dr. Pamela Collins (NIMH), Gary Mays (NIAID), Dr. Daniel Gallahan (NCI), Dr. Cheryl Boyce (NIDA), Dr. Kenton Swartz (NINDS), Dr. Pamela Starke-Reed (NIDDK), Dr. David Bluemke (CC), Sheila Stokes (OD), Keith Lamirande (NIAAA), Dr. Joni Rutter (NIA). Not shown is Dr. Germaine Buck Louis (NICHD).

The 2011 NIH Executive Leadership Program (ExLP) came to a close recently and culminated with a reception at Bldg. 60. Recruitment is now under way for the 2012 program.

ExLP participants completed a variety of projects and shared recommendations on how best to approach four critical challenges affecting NIH including property management, management of NIH policies and procedures, diversity within the intramural program and engaging IT to accelerate data sharing, scientific discovery and translation.

NIH principal deputy director Dr. Lawrence Tabak provided inspirational remarks to participants, inviting them to use everything they learned and to continue to collaborate with each other.

“Be glad you’re prepared,” he said. “I can almost guarantee that you will need to use what you’ve learned in this program in a tangible way in the next few months. If you do three things, your ExLP training will always stay fresh in your mind: contribute, connect, communicate.”

To learn more about the ExLP, or to get a program application, visit If you have questions about the ExLP, contact Keisha Berkley at (301) 496-6211 or

PRAT Fellows Win Honors
Amber Begtrup Dylan Burnette
Samuel Hasson Kristina Lu

Four NIH postdocs in the Pharmacology Research Associate (PRAT) Program recently received honors for their work. PRAT fellows conduct pharmacology research in an NIH or FDA lab. Shown are (clockwise, from top left): Amber Begtrup, who is receiving the American Society of Hematology Abstract Achievement Award and will present at the 53rd ASH annual meeting in San Diego Dec. 10-13. Dylan Burnette has been selected by the American Society for Cell Biology as winner of the Merton Bernfield Memorial Award and is invited to speak in an annual meeting mini-symposium. Kristina Lu has been selected as a top 10 finalist in the MedImmune RIA Abstract Competition, a national open competition advertised in Nature Immunology. Samuel Hasson spoke at this year’s NIH Research Festival on “Functional and Chemical Genomic Approaches to Study the Mechanisms of Mitochondrial Quality Control Linked to Neurodegenerative Disease.” More information on the PRAT program is available at; applications for next year’s class are due Jan. 27, 2012.

back to top of page