skip navigation nih record
Vol. LXV, No. 11
May 24, 2013

previous story

next story


Mabry Named Acting Deputy Director of OBSSR

Dr. Patricia L. Mabry
Dr. Patricia L. Mabry has been appointed acting deputy director of the Office of Behavioral and Social Sciences Research.

She joined OBSSR in 2005 as a health scientist administrator and became a senior advisor in 2007. She has been a key figure in bringing systems science methods to the forefront in behavioral and social sciences research and has led the annual training course, the Institute on Systems Science and Health (2009-2012). She has also led the development of several funding opportunity announcements.

Mabry has published in a variety of scientific journals, including The Lancet, American Journal of Public Health and PLoS Computational Biology. In recognition of her scientific leadership in systems science and health, she has been elected a fellow of the Society of Behavioral Medicine.

Mabry earned her Ph.D. in clinical psychology from the University of Virginia. Before coming to NIH as a contractor in 2002, she was an assistant professor in the department of psychiatry and behavioral sciences at the Medical University of South Carolina. She has also worked in small business settings developing computer-assisted smoking cessation treatments and dietary change interventions.

New Scientific Review Officers at NIGMS

NIGMS recently added two staff members to its Office of Scientific Review.

Dr. Nina Sidorova Dr. Shinako Takada Dr. Nina Sidorova (l) and Dr. Shinako Takada recently joined NIGMS’s Office of Scientific Review.

Dr. Nina Sidorova manages the review of scientific meeting, conference and workshop grant applications and will also handle review of research and research training grant applications in areas including biochemistry and biophysics. She comes to NIGMS from NICHD, where she was an intramural staff scientist. Before joining NIH, Sidorova was a junior research scientist at the Engelhardt Institute of Molecular Biology, Russian Academy of Sciences. She earned a B.S.-M.S. in physics from Moscow State University and a Ph.D. in biology from the Engelhardt Institute. Sidorova conducted postdoctoral research at NIDDK, CIT and NICHD.

Dr. Shinako Takada handles the review of applications for the Support of Competitive Research (SCORE) program as well as other research and research training grant applications in areas including molecular and cell biology and biochemistry. Prior to coming to NIGMS, she was associate director of the department of DNA MOD engineering at Intrexon Corp. Before that, Takada was an associate professor in the department of biochemistry and molecular biology at the University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center. She earned a B.S. in biology from Ochanomizu University and a Ph.D. in medical science from the University of Tokyo, both in Japan. Takada conducted postdoctoral research at the Japanese Foundation for Cancer Research and the University of California, Berkeley.

Dr. Louis Staudt

Dr. Louis Staudt

Photo: Richard Folkers

Dr. Wei Yang
Dr. Wei Yang

NAS Elects Two from NIH

Two NIH scientists are among the 84 new members and 21 foreign associates from 14 countries elected to the National Academy of Sciences in recognition of their distinguished and continuing achievements in original research.

Dr. Louis M. Staudt is deputy chief of the Metabolism Branch, Center for Cancer Research, National Cancer Institute. Dr. Wei Yang is senior investigator and section chief, Laboratory of Molecular Biology, National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases.

New NAS members bring the total number of active members to 2,179 and the total number of foreign associates to 437.

The National Academy of Sciences, now celebrating its 150th year, is a private, non-profit society of distinguished scholars. Established by an Act of Congress, signed by President Abraham Lincoln in 1863, NAS is charged with providing independent, objective advice to the nation on matters related to science and technology. Nearly 500 members of the NAS have won Nobel prizes.



back to top of page