skip navigation nih record
Vol. LXVI, No. 1
January 3, 2014

previous story

next story

Five from NIH Named AAAS Fellows
Dr. Toren Finkel Dr. Herbert M. Geller Dr. Matthew Philip Hoffman Dr. Peter Charles Preusch Dr. Ranjan Sen
The five NIH’ers who were recently elected fellows of AAAS are (from l): Dr. Toren Finkel, Dr. Herbert M. Geller, Dr. Matthew Philip Hoffman, Dr. Peter Charles Preusch and Dr. Ranjan Sen.

Five NIH scientists are among the 388 new fellows named to the American Association for the Advancement of Science. The honor recognizes their efforts toward advancing science applications that are deemed scientifically or socially distinguished. The winners, their section and citation are:

From the section on biological sciences: Dr. Ranjan Sen, chief, Laboratory of Molecular Biology and Immunology, National Institute on Aging, “For distinguished contributions to the fields of transcription factor biology and molecular immunology specifically related to immune system development.”

From the section on dentistry and oral health sciences: Dr. Matthew Philip Hoffman, chief, matrix and morphogenesis section, Laboratory of Cell and Developmental Biology, National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research, “For outstanding contributions to the advancement of sciences in the field of salivary gland biology.”

From the section on medical sciences: Dr. Toren Finkel, chief, Center for Molecular Medicine, National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute, “For discovering how reactive oxygen species function as intracellular signaling molecules and implications thereof in metabolism and aging.”

From the section on neuroscience: Dr. Herbert M. Geller, senior investigator, developmental neurobiology section, National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute, “For distinguished contributions to the field of neuroscience, particularly of neural cell biology, as well as outstanding endeavors to promote mentoring and training.”

From the section on pharmaceutical sciences: Dr. Peter Charles Preusch, chief, Biophysics Branch, National Institute of General Medical Sciences, “For innovative administration of NIH programs in the areas of biochemistry, biophysics and pharmacology; drug discovery, development and delivery; membrane protein structure and function; and training of researchers across all areas of the NIH mission.”

New fellows will be presented with an official certificate and a gold and blue (representing science and engineering, respectively) rosette pin on Feb. 15 during the 2014 AAAS annual meeting in Chicago.

The American Association for the Advancement of Science is the world’s largest general scientific society and publisher of the journal Science. AAAS was founded in 1848 (and began inducting fellows in 1874) and includes 261 affiliated societies and academies of science serving 10 million individuals.

back to top of page