NIH Logo
November 18, 2016
Vol. LXVIII, No. 24


previous story

previous story

Four from NIH Named to National Academy of Medicine

Four NIH scientists are among 70 new members named to the National Academy of Medicine. Election to the academy is considered one of the highest honors in the fields of health and medicine and recognizes individuals who have demonstrated outstanding professional achievement and commitment to service.

Dr. Karen Berman Dr. Leslie Biesecker
Dr. Antonello Bonci
Dr. T. Jake Liang
New NIH NAM members include (clockwise, from top l) Dr. Karen Berman, Dr. Leslie Biesecker, Dr. T. Jake Liang and Dr. Antonello Bonci.

“These newly elected members are outstanding professionals who care deeply about advancing health and health care in the U.S. and globally,” said NAM president Dr. Victor Dzau. “Their expertise will help our organization address pressing health challenges and improve health, science and medicine for the benefit of us all. It is my privilege to welcome these accomplished individuals to the National Academy of Medicine.”

Elected from NIH: Dr. Karen Faith Berman is senior investigator and chief, section on integrative neuroimaging and the Clinical Brain Disorders Branch, National Institute of Mental Health Intramural Research Program.

Dr. Leslie Glenn Biesecker is senior investigator and chief of the Medical Genomics and Metabolic Genetics Branch, National Human Genome Research Institute.

Dr. Antonello Bonci is senior investigator, Cellular Neurobiology Research Branch, synaptic plasticity section, and scientific director, National Institute on Drug Abuse.

Dr. T. Jake Liang is chief of the Liver Diseases Branch and deputy director of translational research, National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases.

Established originally as the Institute of Medicine in 1970 by the National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Medicine addresses critical issues in health, science, medicine and related policy and inspires positive actions across sectors.

back to top of page