Skip to main content
NIH Record - 75th Anniversary - National Institutes of Health

APAO Presents Annual Awards

Keynote speaker, APAO officers gather at awards ceremony

Keynote speaker Dr. Janice Lee (3rd from l) gathers with APAO officers (from l) Laura Wong, Dr. Shioko Kimura, Jimmy Do, Ihsia Hu, Lucie Chen and Dr. Mary Zhang.

Photo: Rebecca Newton & Kyan Chuong, NIMHD

Keynote speaker Dr. Janice Lee at podium

Dr. Janice Lee discusses her research.

Photo: Rebecca Newton & Kyan Chuong, NIMHD

2017 APAO awardees seated at table

2017 APAO awardees are (from l) Dr. Sudhir Srivastava, Dr. Haobin Chen, Dr. Hien Dang, Dr. Mitchell Ho and Sara Kaul.

Photo: Rebecca Newton & Kyan Chuong, NIMHD

More than 70 people attended the annual awards ceremony held by the Asian and Pacific Islander American Organization on Dec. 6 in Wilson Hall. Keynote speaker Dr. Janice Lee, clinical director of NIDCR’s Division of Intramural Research, spoke on improved diagnoses through the newest imaging technologies. 

In her talk, “Precision Medicine and Personalized Surgery: The Impact on Craniofacial Development,” she described her career path and how awareness of cultural differences in patient populations can enrich physician-patient dynamics. 

This year’s APAO honorees include: Dr. Mitchell Ho (NCI) for scientific achievement; Dr. Sudhir Srivastava (NCI) for leadership excellence; and Sara Kaul (NIAID), who received the KT Jeang Distinguished Service Award. APAO also encourages scientists in their early career stages. Two individuals shared the Young Investigator Award—Dr. Haobin Chen (NCI) and Dr. Hien Dang (NCI). 

Back to Top