Skip to main content
NIH Record - National Institutes of Health

AAAS Honors Four NIH’ers

Dr. Robert Angerer

Dr. Robert Angerer

Dr. Andreas Baxevanis

Dr. Andreas Baxevanis

Dr. Mary Dasso

Dr. Mary Dasso

Dr. Judith Richmond Walters

Dr. Judith Walters

Four NIH scientists are among 416 newly elected fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science. They were recognized for their extraordinary achievements in advancing science.

From the section on biological sciences: Dr. Andreas Baxevanis, deputy scientific director, NHGRI; Dr. Mary Dasso, head of the section on cell cycle regulation, NICHD.

From the section on dentistry and oral health sciences: Dr. Robert Angerer, scientific director, NIDCR.

From the section on neuroscience: Dr. Judith Richmond Walters, senior investigator in the neurophysiological pharmacology section, NINDS. 

The fellows will be recognized at the 2019 AAAS annual meeting in Washington, D.C. During a fellows forum on Feb. 16, they will be presented with an official certificate and the AAAS fellows’ gold and blue rosette pin, the colors of which represent the fields of science and engineering, respectively.

AAAS’s annual tradition of recognizing leading scientists as fellows dates to 1874. Since then, AAAS has honored distinguished scientists such as astronomer Maria Mitchell, elected a fellow in 1875; inventor Thomas Edison (1878); chemist Linus Pauling (1939); and computer scientist Grace Hopper (1963). 

The NIH Record

The NIH Record, founded in 1949, is the biweekly newsletter for employees of the National Institutes of Health.

Published 25 times each year, it comes out on payday Fridays.

Associate Editor: Carla Garnett

Staff Writers:

Eric Bock

Dana Talesnik

Back to Top