Skip to main content
NIH Record - National Institutes of Health

NINR Welcomes New Advisory Council Members

New members of NINR advisory council gather.

Former NINR acting director Dr. Ann Cashion (third from l) and NINR acting deputy director Dr. Tara Schwetz (fourth from l) welcome new council members (from l) Dr. John Lowe, Dr. Joanne Wolfe, Dr. Eun-Ok Im and Dr. Peter A. Lewin.

NINR recently announced the appointment of four new members to its National Advisory Council for Nursing Research.

Dr. Eun-Ok Im is associate dean for research development and regulatory affairs and Mary T. Champagne professor at Duke University School of Nursing. She is a methodologist, researcher and theorist in international, cross-cultural women’s health.

Dr. Peter A. Lewin is R.B. Beard distinguished university professor of electrical and computer engineering in the School of Biomedical Engineering, Science and Health Systems at Drexel University. His current interests are primarily in the field of biomedical ultrasonics.

Dr. John Lowe is the current and founding director of the Center for Indigenous Nursing Research for Health Equity and the endowed McKenzie professor for health disparities research at Florida State University College of Nursing. He develops and studies interventions for the prevention and reduction of substance use and other risk behaviors among Native American and indigenous youth and young adults.

Dr. Joanne Wolfe is chief of the division of pediatric palliative care in the department of psychosocial oncology and palliative care at the Dana-Farber Cancer Institute, director of palliative care at Boston Children’s Hospital and professor of pediatrics at Harvard Medical School. She also directs a research program focusing on easing suffering and promoting well-being in children with serious illness and their families.

The NIH Record

The NIH Record, founded in 1949, is the biweekly newsletter for employees of the National Institutes of Health.

Published 25 times each year, it comes out on payday Fridays.

Associate Editor: Carla Garnett

Staff Writers:

Eric Bock

Dana Talesnik

Back to Top