Skip to main content
NIH Record - National Institutes of Health

NIH’ers Receive Presidential Rank Award

Keith Lamirande - headshot

Keith Lamirande

A smiling Colleen McGowan - headshot

Colleen McGowan

Camille Hoover - headshot

Camille Hoover

Jerrard Sheehan headshot

Jerry Sheehan

Four NIH’ers received the 2023 Presidential Rank Award, the highest honor the federal government can bestow upon a career civilian employee. 

This year, Camille Hoover, executive officer at the National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases; Keith Lamirande, executive officer at the National Center for Advancing Translational Sciences; Colleen McGowan, director of NIH’s Office of Research Services; and Jerry Sheehan, former deputy director for policy and external affairs at the National Library of Medicine, were among the 232 recipients from 31 federal agencies. 

Winners of the award are strong leaders, professionals and scientists who achieve results and consistently demonstrate strength, integrity, industry and a relentless commitment to excellence in public service. Presidential Rank Awards recognize extraordinary long-term achievements.

The Civil Service Reform Act of 1978 established the Presidential Rank Awards Program to recognize a select group of career members of the Senior Executive Service for exceptional performance over an extended period of time. 

A complete list of the awards can be found at 

Back to Top