NIH Record - National Institutes of Health

New NCAB Members, Chair Appointed

Group shot of the National Cancer Advisory Board
Acting NCI director Dr. Doug Lowy (l) welcomes new NCAB members (from l) Lawrence Gostin and Drs. Nancy Raab-Traub, Electra Paskett, Margaret Spitz, Francis Ali-Osman, Scott Hiebert and Elizabeth Jaffee.

Six new members have been named to the National Cancer Advisory Board and Dr. Elizabeth Jaffee has been appointed as NCAB chair. 

Jaffee is deputy director of the Sidney Kimmel Comprehensive Cancer Center, the Dana and Albert “Cubby” Broccoli professor of oncology and co-director of the Skip Viragh Center for Pancreas Cancer at Johns Hopkins University. She has focused her scientific career on the pre-clinical and clinical development of vaccines for the treatment of cancer.  

Dr. Francis Ali-Osman is the Margaret Harris & David Silverman professor of neuro-oncology research and professor of surgery and pathology at Duke University School of Medicine. He is a world leader in experimental oncology, cancer therapeutics and pharmacology and cancer-drug resistance. 

Lawrence Gostin is university professor, faculty director and founding Linda D. and Timothy J. O’Neill professor in global health law at the O’Neill Institute for National and Global Health, Georgetown University. Gostin has extensive expertise in legal issues in health care, including the issues of national and global health, human rights, HIV testing and reporting, privacy, disability and discrimination. 

Dr. Scott Hiebert is the Hortense B. Ingram chair in cancer research and professor of biochemistry in the department of biochemistry at Vanderbilt University School of Medicine. He has research specialty in the molecular mechanisms of acute leukemia, cell cycle control and the action of tumor suppressors and co-repressors. 

Dr. Electra Paskett is the Marion N. Rowley professor of cancer research and director of the division of cancer prevention and control in the department of internal medicine at the School of Medicine, Ohio State University. She is nationally recognized for studying cancer health disparities and work in intervention research directed at cancer prevention, early detection and survivorship issues.  

Dr. Nancy Raab-Traub is a professor in the department of microbiology and immunology at the School of Medicine, Lineberger Comprehensive Cancer Center at the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill. She specializes in the role of Epstein-Barr virus in the etiology of human disease and has identified the genes that are expressed in nasopharyngeal carcinoma by cloning and sequencing cDNAs directly from tumor tissue. 

Dr. Margaret Spitz is professor at the Dan L. Duncan Comprehensive Cancer Center at Baylor College of Medicine. She has a longstanding interest in genetic susceptibility to lung cancer and has developed a lung cancer risk prediction model. 

The NIH Record

The NIH Record, founded in 1949, is the biweekly newsletter for employees of the National Institutes of Health.

Published 25 times each year, it comes out on payday Fridays.

Assistant Editor: Eric Bock (link sends e-mail)

Staff Writer: Amber Snyder (link sends e-mail)